A Pac-10 High Seven Beavers Selected All-League

Dec. 7, 2009

Corvallis, Ore. -

            Sean Canfield, Jacquizz Rodgers, James Rodgers, Gregg Peat, Keaton Kristick, Stephen Paea and Suaesi Tuimaunei have been selected to the Pac-10 Conference First Team, it was announced Monday by league commissioner Larry Scott.  The Beavers lead the league for first team selections with seven.


            Canfield finished the regular season leading the Pac-10 for passing yards per game with 258.6 yards.  The lefthander has completed a school record 69.9 percent (284-406) of his pass attempts for 21 touchdowns and just six interceptions.  He enters the Dec. 22 MAACO Bowl Las Vegas fourth all-time for passing yards at OSU with 5,802. 


            Jacquizz Rodgers, the 2008 Pac-10 Offensive and Freshman Player of the Year, was a semifinalist this season for the Doak Walker, Maxwell and Walter Camp awards.  He broke the school record for rushing touchdowns in one season with 20 and has accounted for 21 overall – tied for third in the nation.  He has rushed for 1,377 yards this season and for his two-year career has 2,630 yards.


            James Rodgers earned the honor as a wide receiver as he is leading the Pac-10 for receptions per game (7.2) and yards per game (83.7).  He has 87 receptions for the season, three short of Mike Hass’ school record of 90 in 2005.  James, a first team all-league kick returner last season, is fifth in the nation and first in the conference with a 184.4 all-purpose yards per game average.


            Kristick, a senior linebacker, is fourth in the Pac-10 with 87 tackles.  Paea, a junior defensive tackle, battled double teams most of the season and still registered 41 tackles with three sacks.  Kristick was a second team selection last season and Paea honorable mention.


            Peat earns the honor from his guard position, marking the fourth consecutive year a Beaver offensive lineman has earned first team honors.  Tuimaunei was selected as a special teams standout for his play on the kick and punt return coverage teams.


            Junior placekicker Justin Kahut, a two-time Pac-10 Special Teams Player of the Week, earned second team honors.  Center Alex Linnenkohl, and linebackers Dwight Roberson, David Pa’aluhi and Keith Pankey earned honorable mention.


            The All-Pac-10 team is voted on by the league’s 10 head coaches.


Oregon State is headed for a school record fourth straight bowl game when the Beavers play in the MAACO Bowl Las Vegas Dec. 22. Tickets are available now to 2009 Beaver season ticket holders by calling 1-800-GOBEAVS or online at osubeavers.com -- deadline to receive priority status is Dec. 9.  Ticket orders for all Beaver fans start Mon., Dec. 7 at 8:30 a.m.   MAACO Bowl Las Vegas tickets are $50 each and each order will have a $35 handling charge.  Tickets will be shipped by Dec. 15 via UPS Next Day Air.  All ticket orders will be allocated using Beaver Athletic Student Fund (BASF) order priority. 


Now on Pac-12 Network
12:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder