Collymore, Hawkins Named Pac-10 Scholar Athletes Of Year

Dec. 8, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-10 Conference announced its fall Scholar-Athletes of the Year presented by Toyo Tires on Tuesday and two Washington student-athletes earned the honor in their respective sports. Jill Collymore, an outside hitter on the volleyball team, and Rylan Hawkins, the goalkeeper for the men's soccer team, were among a group of six selections for fall sports.

The Pac-10 Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Collymore, a native of Bellevue, Wash., was voted to the ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America Second Team, after being named to the Third Team last season. She was one of only two Pac-10 players on the squad. The double major in honors psychology and digital arts owns a 3.77 grade point average. She was also a Pac-10 First Team All-Academic selection in 2009 and 2008, and was named Second Team in 2006. Collymore led the Pac-10 in aces each of the past two seasons and finished with 129 career aces, fifth-most in school history. Her 54 aces this season tied for third-most in a single season in program history.

Hawkins, a First Team Academic All-American, All Region and All-Pac-10 honoree this year, carries a 3.92 grade point average in Computer Engineering. A native of Shoreline, Wash., Hawkins is one of 10 finalists for the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award, the winner of which will be named this week. A two-time honorable mention All-Pac-10 performer, he will leave UW ranked fourth all-time in goals against average (1.04) and fifth in shutouts (16). A four-time First Team Pac-10 All-Academic pick, Hawkins had a career year in 2009, ranking second in the conference in saves (73) and shutouts (6) and fewest conference goals allowed (10) and third in saves per game (4.06).

Hawkins is the third consecutive UW men's soccer player to earn the honor after George John was named the winner last year and Kevin Forrest was honored the previous year.

Each Pac-10 institution nominates one individual per sport and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-10 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The nomination criteria includes being a senior in athletic eligibility and on track to receive a degree, a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participation in at least 50 percent of the team's scheduled contests and a minimum of one year in residence at the institution.

The other 2009 fall sport honorees include Arizona State's Mike Nixon (football) and Brandon Bethke (men's cross country), Oregon's Nicole Blood (women's cross country) and Stanford's Ali Riley.

Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

Other nominees include:

Football: Taylor Kavanaugh, OSU; Toby Gerhart, STAN; Alterraun Verner, UCLA; Jeff Byers, USC; Paul Homer, WASH; Kenny Alfred, WSU

Volleyball: Nevena Djordjevic, ORE; Bree Knitter, OSU; Janet Okogbaa, STAN; Kaitlin Sather, UCLA; Alli Hillgren, USC; Jackie Albright, WSU

Men's Cross Country: Marco Anzures, UCLA; Jake Schmitt, WASH

Women's Cross Country: Ali Kielty, ASU; Jenny O'Conner, OSU; Kate Niehaus, STAN; Katherine Ellis, USC; Katie Follett, WASH; Lisa Egami, WSU

Men's Soccer: Justin Wodward, OSU; John Moore, STAN; Kyle Nakazawa, UCLA

Women's Soccer: Liz Harkin, ASU; Gina Pellegrini, CAL; Danielle Sweeney, ORE; Rachel Axon, OSU; Veronica Perez, WASH; Kiersten Dallstream, WSU

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder