Gerhart Finishes Second in Heisman

Dec. 12, 2009

NEW YORK-- Stanford running back Toby Gerhart finished second to Alabama's Mark Ingram in the closest Heisman Trophy vote in the award's 75-year history.

Ingram received 227 first-place votes and 1,304 points. Gerhart got 222 first-place votes and 1,276 points, while Texas quarterback Colt McCoy, last season's runner-up, received 203 and 1,145.

“Tony is one of the greatest players,” said Stanford's lone Heisman winner, Jim Plunkett, during the one-hour telecast on ESPN, speaking about Cardinal players becoming finalists for the award. “It doesn't happen very often (at Stanford), but when it does, they are special.”

Gerhart was trying to join Plunkett in 1970, as just the second Stanford player ever to be honored with the nation's top award. On Thursday, Gerhart became Stanford's first winner of the Doak Walker Award, named for the nation's top running back.

He is the first Stanford finalist since Elway in 1982, and 11th player overall to be a part of the Heisman balloting, joining: Frankie Albert (3rd, 1940), Norman Standlee (9th, 1940), Bill McColl (4th, 1951), Bobby Garrett (5th, 1953), John Brodie (7th, 1956), Jim Plunkett (winner, 1970), Guy Benjamin (7th, 1977), Darrin Nelson (6th, 1981), John Elway (2nd, 1982), Glyn Milburn (9th, 1992).

It has been a whirlwind week for Gerhart, who won the Walker Award on Thursday in Orlando, took four final exams during the week and finally took part in the Heisman Trophy ceremony at the Nokia Theatre in Times Square on Saturday night. Twenty-seven former winners of the award were at the ceremony.

Gerhart broke his own single-season record for rushing with 1,736 yards during the regular season. He has also scored 26 touchdowns, a Pac-10 and Stanford single-season record. Both are tops in the nation. He has touched 200 yards three times this season and 100 yards in 10 of 12 games. Fifty times this season he ran for over 10 yards, best in the nation.

Gerhart and the 8-4 Cardinal are preparing for the Brut Sun Bowl in El Paso on New Year's Eve against Oklahoma.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder