Damian Williams Named USC's MVP

Dec. 13, 2009

USC senior Damian Williams, who was an All-Pac-10 first teamer as both a wide receiver and punt returner, was named the Most Valuable Player of the Emerald Bowl-bound Trojan football team at the annual awards banquet Sunday (Dec. 13) at Club Nokia in Los Angeles.

Williams led USC in receptions with 58 for 821 yards with 6 touchdowns and in punt returns with 22 for 339 yards (15.4 average) with 2 TDs.

Senior tailback Stafon Johnson, who suffered a serious throat injury in a freak weightlifting accident early in the season that sidelined him, won USC?s Most Inspirational Player Award. Senior offensive guard-center Jeff Byers was presented with USC?s Offensive Lineman of the Year Award, while junior defensive tackle Christian Tupou and sophomore defensive tackle Jurrell Casey shared USC?s Defensive Lineman of the Year Award. Senior quarterback-wide receiver Garrett Green won USC?s Special Teams Player of the Year Award.

  • A complete list of the 2009 awards:
  • Most Valuable Player: wide receiver Damian Williams
  • Most Inspirational Player: tailback Stafon Johnson
  • Linemen of the Year: offensive guard-center Jeff Byers (offense), defensive tackles Christian Tupou and Jurrell Casey (defense)
  • Special Teams Player of the Year: quarterback-wide receiver Garrett Green
  • Service Team Players of the Year: center Michael Reardon (offense), linebacker Marquis Simmons (defense)
  • Player of the Game versus Notre Dame: tight end Anthony McCoy
  • Player of the Game versus UCLA: tailback Allen Bradford
  • Jack Oakie ?Rise and Shine? Award (year?s biggest hit): safety Taylor Mays
  • Howard Jones/Football Alumni Club Academic Award (overall academic achievement): quarterback-wide receiver Garrett Green Bob Chandler Award (underclassman with outstanding athletic ability, academic achievement and character): defensive tackle Christian Tupou
  • John McKay Award (underclassman with the most competitive spirit): defensive end Devon Kennard
  • Courage Award: safety-cornerback Josh Pinkard
  • Co-Lifters Award: offensive guard-center Jeff Byers, safety Will Harris, safety Taylor Mays

    Team Captains: offensive guard-center Jeff Byers, safety Taylor Mays, safety-cornerback Josh Pinkard, wide receiver Damian Williams

  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    4:30 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder