Oceana Bush Named to COBRA Magazine All-National Team

Dec. 29, 2009

The world's newest internet volleyball magazine is proud to present its first All-National Team.

COBRA Magazine (www.cobramag.t83.net) has named 45 players to its All-National Team and has selected LSU's Brittnee Cooper as its National Player of the Year.'COBRA is proud to call Brittnee Cooper its National Player of the Year,' said Gezus Zaire, creator of COBRA Magazine. 'Her passion and talent are on a world class level and inspires young women around the country.'

COBRA Magazine is the first publication that showcases the talents of black volleyball players. Its first four issues featured players such as three-time National Champion Alisha Glass of Penn State, Canadian National Team member Tasha Holness and SEC Player of the Year Brittnee Cooper.

COBRA's goal is to tell inspiring stories of black volleyball players that show young African American players that they too have opportunities to thrive in the sport despite cultural differences and economic disadvantages.

'One of COBRA's goals is to share the success of players while exposing the barriers that they have had to face by being in a sport that is not highly promoted amongst their peers,' Zaire said. 'COBRA is an advocate that previously didn't exist for black volleyball players.'

COBRA has been read in ten different nations to date including Slovakia, Mexico, Brazil, Turkey and Czech Republic. Our latest issue featuring the COBRA Magazine All-National Team can be downloaded for free at: www.cobramag.t83.net. The 45 members of the COBRA Magazine All-National Team are:

>b>ALL-NATIONAL FIRST TEAM: Texas' Rachael Adams, Rice's Natalie Bogan, LSU's Brittnee Cooper, Hawaii's Kanaani Danielson, Penn State's Alisha Glass, Tulsa's Tyler Henderson, Penn State's Megan Hodge, Texas' Destinee Hooker, USC's Alex Jupiter, California's Tarah Murrey, Stanford's Janet Okogbaa, Arizona's Tiffany Owens, Washington's Bianca Rowland, Penn State's Arielle Wilson, California's Mindi Wiley.

ALL-NATIONAL SECOND TEAM: Alabama A&M's Madinah Abdullah, Florida's Cassandra Anderson, Blinn College's Lakeshia Craft, Ohio State's Kristen Dozier, Hawaii's Stephanie Ferrell, Memphis' Altrese Hawkins, Tennessee's Kayla Jeter, Maryland Eastern Shore's Whitney Johnson, Georgia State's Ashley Jones, Delaware State's Cassandra Joyner, Arizona State's Sarah Reaves, Alabama A&M's Natalie Rodriguez, Cincinnati's Jordanne Scott, Blinn College's Keidra Williams, Long Beach State's Naomi Washington.

ALL-NATIONAL THIRD TEAM: Florida's Lauren Bledsoe, Louisville's Lecia Brown, Washington State's Oceana Bush, California Baptist's Ingrid Carmona, Arizona's Whitney Dosty, Purdue's Carrie Gurnell, Jackson State's Brittany Larkin, Alabama A&M's Clarissa Moore, Tennessee's Farren Powe, Virginia Commonwealth's Ivana Rich, Pensacola's Jasmine Scott, Kentucky State's Brittany Stewart, Georgia State's Vineece Verdun, Methodist's Jalesty Washington, Grambling's Kayla Williams.

COBRA Magazine: www.cobramag.t83.net

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder