Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Brooks: A Run At All-Decade Football, Hoops

Jan 1, 2010

BOULDER - So, you're selecting a CU all-decade football team . . . where to start?

Quarterback, of course. We'll build this team as would most coaches/general managers.

Choosing an all-decade QB should be a no-brainer, right?

Not so fast.

In the past decade, CU usually positioned more game-managers behind center (remember Robert Hodge?) than game-breakers. Yet given the Buffaloes' success in the early portion of the decade, having an efficient game-manager is not such a bad thing.

Clearly, though, CU's QBs in the 2000's haven't been as high-profile as their counterparts in the preceding decade. That's partly because the Buffs routinely played their way among the nation's elite through most of the '90s.

Flog me if I'm wrong, but your 2000 decade choices come down to Bobby Pesavento ('01) and Joel Klatt ('05). Cody Hawkins ('07-'09) has worked his into the record books, but not the seasonal win column.

Klatt, the beneficiary of a pair of all-decade receiving candidates (D.J. Hackett, Derek McCoy), was productive: He set still-standing school passing records and directed the Buffs to two Big 12 Conference North Division titles.

Pesavento, the beneficiary of a bona fide all-decade tight end (Daniel Graham) and a running game that featured Chris Brown behind a solid O-line, guided the Buffs to their only Big 12 championship.

Dial back a decade and your '90s choice at QB would emerge from among a group composed of Darian Hagan, Kordell Stewart, Koy Detmer and Mike Moschetti - with John Hessler also drawing notice.

CU's overall record in the 1990s: 87-29-4; CU's mark in the 2000s: 58-67-0.

Drum roll, please . . . the choice for the first-team QB on our CU all-decade team: Klatt. He oversees an offense that any of his peers would covet.

Assisting in the all-decade football selections was Dave Plati, long-time director of athletic media relations, while sports information assistants Andrew Green (men) and Troy Andre (women) offered their expertise in hoops.

Additions, subtractions, suggestions, clarifications, beefs (even kudos) are welcome.

2009 ALL-COLORADO TEAM ANNOUNCED:  The Colorado Chapter of the National Football Foundation released its annual All-Colorado team Thursday, and several Colorado Buffaloes earned their way on to the squad.

Garnering first-team honors were cornerback Cha'pelle Brown, tight end Riar Geer, wide receiver Scotty McKnight, offensive guard Ryan Miller, defensive tackle Will Pericak, linebacker Jeff Smart, offensive tackle Nate Solder and tailback Rodney Stewart.

Second-team honors were afforded to cornerbacks Jalil Brown and Jimmy Smith, defensive end Marquez Herrod and safety Travis Sandersfeld, who made the team as a special teams performer for his play on CU's coverage and return units.

Colorado Mines' Adam Saur and Marc Schiechl were named the Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, while Adams State's freshman David Van Voris was voted the Special Teams Player of the Year.  Air Force Academy head coach Troy Calhoun was named the NFFCC Coach of the Year.  NFFCC board members and the sports information directors from the 10 institutions in Colorado voted on the team. 

CU led all teams with 12 selections to the All-Colorado team, followed by Colorado Mines with 11 and Air Force with 10.  At least one member from eight of the 10 schools were represented on this year's team.  The complete team can be found on-line at:



First-team offense

WR - D.J. Hackett ('03), Derek McCoy ('03)

TE - Dan Graham ('01)

OL - Andre Gurode ('01), Victory Rogers ('01), Wayne Lucier ('02), Tyler Polumbus ('07)

C - Marwan Hage ('03)

QB - Joel Klatt ('05)

RB - Chris Brown ('01-'02), Cortlen Johnson ('01)

FB - Lawrence Vickers ('05)

PK - Mason Crosby ('06)

KR - Jeremy Bloom ('04)

First-team defense

DL - Abraham Wright ('06), Matt McChesney ('04), Tyler Brayton ('02), Justin Bannan ('01)

LB - Jordon Dizon ('07), Thaddaeus Washington ('06), Brian Iwuh ('05)

DB - Terrence Wheatley ('07), Donald Strickland ('02), Michael Lewis ('01), Medford Moorer ('03)

P - Mark Mariscal ('02)

SN - Greg Pace ('05)

Second-team offense

WR - Javon Green ('00), Scotty McKnight ('09)

TE - Joe Klopfenstein ('05)

OL - Justin Bates ('05), Tom Ashworth ('00), Karl Allis ('03), Sam Wilder ('04)  

C - Mark Fenton ('05)

QB - Bobby Pesavento ('01)

RB - Hugh Charles ('07), Bobby Purify ('04)

FB - Brandon Drumm ('02)

 PK - Kevin Eberhardt ('07)

KR - Roman Hollowell ('01)

Second team defense

DL - James Garee ('05), Vaka Manupuna ('05), Maurice Lucas ('08), George Hypolite ('08)  

LB - Jashon Sykes, ('01), Brad Jones ('08), Jeff Smart ('09)

DB - Robbie Robinson ('01), Gerret Burl ('05), Ryan Walters ('08), Cha'pelle Brown ('09)

P - John Torp ('05)

SN - Justin Drescher ('09)


F - Sabrina Scott (1999-03), Jackie McFarland (2004-08), Brittany Spears (2007-present)

C - Tera Bjorklund (2000-04)

G - Mandy Nightingale (1998-02), Jenny Roulier (1998-02), Linda Lappe (1999-03), Kate Fagan (1999-04)


F - Stephane Pelle (1999-2003)

C - David Harrison (2001-04)

G - Michel Morandais (2000-04), Richard Roby (2004-08), Blair Wilson (2000-04), Cory Higgins (2007-present), Alec Burks (2009-present)   

Contact: BG.Brooks@Colorado.EDU