O'Hara Wins Hermann Trophy

Jan. 8, 2010

ST. LOUIS - Senior forward Kelley O'Hara became the first Stanford player in history to the win the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, college soccer's highest honor.

O'Hara was one of three finalists - North Carolina midfielder Tobin Heath and UCLA forward Lauren Cheney were the others -- invited to Friday's ceremony, with the award decided by a vote of coaches. O'Hara received the women's honor and Akron's Teal Bunbury received the men's.

O'Hara, a native of Fayetteville, Ga., led the Stanford (25-1) to its best record and to its first NCAA championship final, shattering school records along the way and leading the nation in scoring.

O'Hara (26 goals, 13 assists, 65 points) had been nominated three times for the award, but had never been a finalist until this year, joining Julie Foudy (1991 and '92) as the only finalists in Stanford history.

A 2009 NSCAA first-team All-America, O'Hara is the Pacific-10 Conference's Player of the Year and an ESPN The Magazine first team Academic All-American.

The Hermann Trophy has been awarded since 1967 to men, and since 1988 to women. Michelle Akers was the first women's winner, and Mia Hamm won it twice. O'Hara becomes just the third winner from a Bay Area school: Mani Hernandez of San Jose State won the men's award in 1968 and Santa Clara's Aly Wagner won the women's in 2002.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder