Wildcats Top Mustangs

Jan. 9, 2010

Results Get Acrobat Reader

Scores Get Acrobat Reader

TUCSON, Ariz. – One day after the Arizona women’s team defeated a trio of competitors, the Arizona men’s swimming and diving team followed suit, taking down SMU Saturday morning, 164-107.


Jean Basson and A.J. Tipton each won two events for Arizona as they led throughout the meet.  Basson first took the men’s 1000 freestyle event in a time of 9:35.48 before winning the 500 free in 4:39.50.  Tipton took home his usual 200 butterfly event, this time in 1:50.49 along with a 100 fly win in 50.70.


Another two-event winner was Cory Chitwood. Chitwood, who missed all of 2008-09 with a shoulder injury, has been rounding into form nicely, winning the 100 and 200 backstroke while finishing runner-up to Clark Burckle in the 200 I.M.  Chitwood posted times of 49.68 and 1:47.18 in the 100 and 200 backstroke respectively.


Freestyle sprinter Jordan Smith remained flawless through the dual meet season, taking the 50 free in 20.65.  Smith also posted the fastest time in the 100 free before it was exhibitioned.


Through the meet, the Wildcats claimed the top time in every event but exhibitioned the 100 free, 200 breast and 200 free relay to SMU.


The 200 free relay served as the only relay swum Saturday with the team of Smith, Nick Popov, Craig Jordens and Adam Small turning in the top time in 1:21.75.



-The Arizona women’s team also competed in an intrasquad scrimmage Saturday morning with the team split into Red vs. Blue.  Post-grad swimmers also took part in the women’s competition.


-In diving action yesterday, Arizona’s Ainsley Oliver finished runner-up to NAU’s Taryn Harris in the three-meter event and Lana Christensen in the one-meter competition. Oliver posted scores of 288.90 and 324.98, respectively. Rounding out UA’s other divers were Ashley Herrera and Alexa Wollach. Herrera was fourth in the one-meter and fifth in the three meter.  


Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network