California's Adrian and Stanford's Smit Named Pac-10 Swimmers of the Month

Jan. 13, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - CALIFORNIA junior Nathan Adrian and STANFORD senior Julia Smit have been named Pac-10 Men's and Women's Swimmers of the month for December, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today.  

Adrian, a junior from Bremerton, Wash., had a dominant month of December. At the AT&T Short Course National Championships, Adrian won the 100-yard free with an NCAA automatic qualifying time of 41.80. He also won the 50 yard free with a mark of 19.08, helped the Golden Bears win the 200-yard free relay (19.08) and the 400-yard free relay (2:51.80), which was an NCAA automatic qualifying time. 

Adrian then went across the pond to participate in the 2009 Mutual of Omaha Dual in the Pool at the Manchester Aquatic Center in Manchester, England. In the 400-meter free relay, the junior swam the lead-off leg for the United States, helping the squad set a world record time of 3:30.30. Adrian also became the first man in the U.S. to swim under 21 seconds in the 50-meter free short course with a time of 20.71. He anchored the United States' then-world record-setting 400-meter medley relay, which finished with a time of 3:20.71.  Adrian finished the two-day event winning two individual races and being a key part of two record-setting relays. 

Julia Smit, a Stanford senior, who hails from Mt. Sinai, N.Y., joined Adrian in representing the United States at the Dual in the Pool in Manchester, England. Smit broke the world's mark in the 200-meter individual medley short course with a time of 2:04.60, which also broke America's 16-year old record in the race. She also broke the world record in the 400-meter individual medley short course, smashing the current mark by almost two seconds with a time of 4:21.04 and broke her won U.S. record of 4:25. 87 in the race set in 2008. 

This is Adrian's first Swimmer of the Month award and the fourth for California overall. Smit is receiving her fourth Swimmer of the Month recognition and Stanford's Conference-leading seventh selection overall. 

Also Nominated: 
Men: Jean Basson, ARIZ; Xavier Mohammed, ASU; Chad La Tourette, STAN; Clement Lefert, USC
Women: Alyssa Anderson, ARIZ; Ashley Evans, ASU; Caitlin Leverenz, CAL; Anna Crandall, OSU; Katinka Hosszu, USC

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network