Ratcliffe is National Coach of the Year ... Again

Jan. 16, 2010

PHILADELPHIA - Stanford's Paul Ratcliffe became the first in 14 years to claim back-to-back Division I women's National Coach of the Year honors, earning the National Soccer Coaches Association of America award Friday at the organization's annual convention.

Ratcliffe guided Stanford to a school-best 25-1 record and its first NCAA championship final. Along the way, the Cardinal broke a school record with 80 goals and placed four players on the NSCAA/Performance Subaru All-America Team. He now has a career record of 165-68-23 with eight NCAA Tournament appearances.

In the past two seasons, Ratcliffe has coached the Cardinal to a combined 47-3-1 record and a pair of NCAA College Cup final four appearances. During that time, Stanford has earned the two highest victory and goal totals in school history, scoring 151 times.

Ratcliffe is the winningest and longest-tenured coach in Stanford women's soccer history, with a 110-34-17 record in seven seasons, but none were more spectacular than 2009 when the Cardinal won its first 25 matches before losing to North Carolina, 1-0, in the NCAA final.

In addition, Ratcliffe coached Kelley O'Hara to become the first Stanford player to win the Hermann Trophy as college soccer's best player.


Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network