Baxter, Mitchell Named Team MVPs

Jan. 17, 2010

Junior center Colin Baxter and senior defensive tackle Earl Mitchell were named team MVPs at the annual football awards banquet this evening.

Baxter, who will anchor an offensive unit that will return almost intact next year, earned Offensive MVP honor while Mitchell, expected to be taken this spring in the National Football League Draft, earned Defensive MVP honors.

Senior linebacker Xavier Kelley was named winner of the Tedy Bruschi Award as the senior who brought the intangibles as well as outstanding performances to the team, as exemplified by the award's namesake, the former UA consensus All-American.

Most valuable Scout Team Awards went to true freshman guard Eric Bender-Ramsay on offense and truen freshman linebacker Trevor Erno on defense.

Among other honors cited at the banquet was the Bob Moran Most Valuable Player Award for sophomore running back Keola Antolin, who earned the trophy for his performance against ASU in the Territorial Cup game.

Next up for football is Spring Signing Day the first week in February, and then the start of spring ball in March.

The Cats finished 2009 with an 8-5 record and a 6-3 mark for a second-place tie in Pac-10 play, capping the year with a loss to Nebraska in the Pacific Life Holiday Bowl. It was UA's second eight-victory year in a row and second consecutive bowl appearance.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:15 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder