Cardinal Wrestling Falls At No. 8 Central Michigan

Jan. 17, 2010

Mt. Pleasant, Mich. - The Cardinal wrestling team, competing in its fourth dual in less than 24 hours, fell to eighth-ranked Central Michigan, 33-6, Sunday, in Mt. Pleasant, Mich. Stanford drops to 8-5 on the season, while the Chippewas improve to 9-2 overall.

Stanford head coach Jason Borrelli returned to his alma mater for the first time as a coach, and faced his father, Tom Borrelli, the Chippewas 19th-year head coach. Competing against seven ranked opponents, Stanford's only points of the day came by a Central Michigan forfeit at 184 pounds. Junior Zack Giesen picks up the win for the Cardinal, improving his season records to 22-3 overall and 11-1 in dual matches.

Freshman Ryan Mango, who was undefeated Saturday, was edged by No. 10 Matt Steintrager, 2-1, at 125 pounds. Central Michigan broke out to a 17-0 lead as it won the next four bouts, including major decisions at 141 and 149 pounds.

Stanford 165-pound sophomore Nick Amuchastegui, who entered Sunday's match undefeated in dual competition, came up short against No. 19 Tyler Grayson, 8-6. Amuchastegui is now 21-4 overall and 11-1 in dual matches this season.

Senior Jake Johnson dropped a 6-1 decision to the Chippewas' ninth-ranked Ben Bennettat 174 pounds, increasing the score to 23-0. Stanford finally got on the board as Central Michigan had to forfeit at 184 pounds, but the Chippewas earned 10 more points for a major decision at 197 pounds and a forfeit by the Cardinal at heavyweight.

Stanford will remain on the road next week as it travels south to San Luis Obispo, Calif., for a Pac-10 dual against the 16th-ranked Cal Poly Mustangs. The dual begins at 6:30 p.m., Friday, Jan. 22 at Mott Gym.

Sunday's Results:

No. 8 Central Michigan 33, Stanford 6
125- No. 10 Matt Steintrager (C) dec. Ryan Mango (S), 2-1
133- No. 9 Scotti Sentes (C) dec. Justin Paulsen (S), 5-2
141- Conor Beebe (C) maj. dec. Bret Baumbach (S), 9-1
149- No. 11 Tony D'Alie (C) maj. dec. Tyler Parker (S), 10-2
157- Donnie Corby (C) dec. Mike Kent (S), 3-2
165- No. 19 Tyler Grayson (C) dec. Nick Amuchastegui (S), 8-6
174- No. 9 Ben Bennett (C) dec. Jake Johnson (S), 6-1
184- No. 11 Zack Giesen (S) won by forfeit
197- Eric Simaz (C) maj. dec. Richard Kessler (S), 13-5
HWT- No. 3 Jarod Trice (C) won by forfeit

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder