Huskies Sweep Sports Star Of The Year Awards

Jan. 19, 2010

SEATTLE - Huskies dominated the Seattle Sports Star of the Year awards ceremonty Tuesday night as the Washington softball team picked up two awards -- the FSN/DirecTV Play of the Year and Female Sports Star of the Year -- and Husky quarterback Jake Locker was named Male Sports Star of the Year.

Mariners pitcher Felix Hernandez was honored as the Pro Sports Star of the Year at the 75th annual ceremony, held at Benaroya Hall. The event was emceed by KIRO-TV's Steve Raible and ESPN personality Kenny Mayne, who recounted his brief stint as a walkon quarterback on the Husky football team in 1977.

It was a star-studded affair as well-known figures from the Mariners, Seahawks, Sonics, Storm and Sounders were all on hand, plus a tremendous showing from the UW athletic department.

Locker was honored as Male Sports Star of the Year, edging three other nominees from Montlake: basketball coach Lorenzo Romar, golf star Nick Taylor and the 2009 IRA champion men's varsity eight crew.

Locker was presented the award by Husky softball star Danielle Lawrie and Sounders executive and former national team player Chris Henderson.

On the women's side, the UW's NCAA champion softball team won its Star of the Year award ahead of Husky cross country standout Kendra Schaff, UW volleyball star Tamari Miyashiro, SPU distance runner Jessica Pixler and soccer player Michelle French.

Presenting the award to coach Heather Tarr and the Huskies were former UW quarterback and Pro Football Hall of Famer Warren Moon and former Husky golf star and LPGA player Paige Mackenzie.

The Play of the Year, which also went to the softball team for its College World Series-winning victory over Florida, was nominated alongside the Huskies' football win over USC, Ken Griffey's game-winning homer vs. Arizona, the Mercer Island Little League's run to the World Series and a close finish in the Longacres Mile.

Also, in honor of the 75th year of the ceremony (previously the Seattle Post-Intelligencer Sports Star of the Year), the 1958 Husky rowing victory in the Soviet Union was named the top sports story of the last 75 years.

Additionally, coach Romar presented the Royal Brougham Legend Award to his former coach, Marv Harshman, longtime basketball coach at Pacific Lutheran, Washington State and Washington.

Outside of the Husky presence, basketball Hall of Famer Lenny Wilkens presented the Youth Star of the Year award to Arlington High wrestler Shawn Berg. Pro Football Hall of Famer and all-time Seahawks great Steve Largent and beloved Mariners slugger Edgar Martinez gave the Sports Citizen of the Year to former Ms pitcher Jamie Moyer. Seahawks and Sounders CEO Tod Leiweke was named Seattle Sports Executive of the Year.

Huskies have swept the awards several times in recent years. At last year's ceremony, basketball star Jon Brockman and USA goalkeeper Hopo Solo were the winners. Two years before that, volleyball's Courtney Thompson and basketball's Brandon Roy went home with trophies.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network