Cal Volleyball Hosts Annual Awards Banquet on Jan. 31

Jan. 21, 2010

BERKELEY - The California volleyball team will celebrate the 2009 season by hosting its annual team awards banquet at the Haas Pavilion Club Room on Sunday, Jan. 31. Reception begins at 5 p.m., followed by dinner at 5:30 p.m. and program at 6 p.m.

Individual seat reservations can be made for $35 per person. Fans and supporters are also able to sponsor players at $35 per player. For more information and to RSVP, please contact director of operations Jennifer Carey at or (510) 642-9208.

The Bears (21-11, 11-7 Pac-10) finished fourth in the conference and received the No. 8 ranking in the final AVCA poll. Cal earned its school-record eighth consecutive bid to the NCAA championship tournament. As the ninth-seeded team, Cal advanced to the Gainesville Regional final where it fell in three sets to two-time defending NCAA champion Penn State. The Bears moved into the NCAA regional final for the third time in three years; making them just one of four teams to accomplish the feat (Nebraska, Texas and Penn State being the others). Cal's fourth straight appearance in the regional semifinal was also a new school record. Senior outside hitter Hana Cutura was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year and received her third selection to the AVCA All-America team where she was joined by junior setter Carli Lloyd in her second appearance.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network