Stanford Sprinters Thrive In New Mexico

Jan. 23, 2010

  • Full Results

    Albuquerque, N.M. - The Stanford track and field teams traveled to New Mexico to compete in the Cherry and Silver Classic on Saturday. The Cardinal sent a group of sprinters as well as field event competitors.

    Leading the way for the men was Tyrone McGraw who tied the school record in the 60 meters. McGraw qualified for the final where he finished third. His time of 6.82 tied the school record set by Ryan Fisicaro last season.

    In the 200, Daniel Belch had the top time for Stanford of 21.79. Spencer Chase also broke 22 (21.92), while McGraw finished right at 22.00.

    Former All-American Zach Chandy led Stanford in the 400 meters with a time of 48.95.

    Jules Sharpe led the way for the Stanford men in the field, capturing the meet title in the high jump. The freshman leaped 7-1, which was also an NCAA provisional standard. The mark was the third best in Stanford indoor history.

    Also faring well was Geoff Tabor in the shot put who finished third (55-3 ¾) and Carter Wells in the weight throw who finished fourth (57-9 ¾).

    The women were led by Katerina Stefanidi who took the meet title in the pole vault. Stefanidi vaulted 13-7 ¼, which was just off her personal best, set last week.

    Other top competitors in the field events were the long jumpers. Both Arantxa King and Griffin Matthew earned NCAA provisional standards. King finished second with a jump of 20-7 ¼, while Matthew was third with a leap of 20-1 ½.

    In the sprints, Carissa Levingston made the final of the 60 meters, where she finished sixth. Her time of 7.59 in the prelims was the seventh fastest all-time at Stanford.

    In the 200 meters, Matthew earned a second provisional standard with a time of 23.80. The time was the third fastest in Stanford history.

    The Cardinal will be back in action next week with meets at both Washington and Texas A&M. Both meets are two-day meets, beginning Friday, Jan. 29, and continuing to Saturday, Jan. 30.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    9:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network