ASU Baseball All-Decade Team: Brett Wallace

Jan. 26, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball will be naming an All-Decade Team for the 2000's. The 25-man roster is made up of players who played at least two seasons at Arizona State and who played in the past decade.

Brett Wallace, INFIELD, 2006-2008
When Brett Wallace finished the 2006 season as ASU’s leading hitter with a .371 average, no one could have predicted that it would be the lowest of his career and the only time he wouldn’t win the Pac-10 batting crown. But that’s exactly what happened, as the Sonoma, California native put together a two year run of dominance that may never be topped. Wallace would finish his ASU career with a .398 average, the second highest in school history. He hit .404 in 2007 and .410 in 2008, joining Kevin Romine as the only two people to ever hit over .400 in back-to-back seasons at ASU. He collected 261 hits in his 173 games, including 45 home runs, tying him with Barry Bonds for fourth on the school’s all-time list. He became the first player in the history of the Pac-10 Conference to win the Triple Crown in consecutive years, driving in 78 runs with 16 homers in 2007 and 83 RBI with 22 home runs in 2008. He was a consensus First Team All-American in both 2007 and 2008, and was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year in each of those seasons. He was named the District IX Player of the Year in 2007 and was a Golden Spikes Award finalist in 2008. He was the 13th player taken in the 2008 Major League Baseball draft, selected by the St. Louis Cardinals. He led ASU to Pac-10 championships in 2007 and 2008 and the College World Series in 2007.

From 2000 to 2009, Arizona State baseball won 433 games, 157 Pac-10 games, appeared in the NCAA Tournament in each year and reached the College World Series three times. The Sun Devils won four Pac-10 titles, including the last three, finished in the Top 5 in the nation three times and saw 47 players earn First Team All-Pac-10 honors. Over the past 10 years, ASU has had six Pac-10 Players of the Year, two Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year, two Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year, a Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, three Academic All-Americans, 33 All-Americans and a National Player of the Year. Since 2000, 78 Sun Devils have been selected in the MLB Draft.

Petey Paramore, Catcher, 2006-2008
Tuffy Gosewisch, Catcher, 2002-2005
Jeff Larish, Infield/Outfield, 2002-2005
Eric Sogard, Infield, 2005-2007
Dustin Pedroia, Infield, 2002-2004
Brett Wallace, Infield, 2006-2008

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder