Bell Latest Super Cat

Jan. 26, 2010

Former UA running back Mike Bell of the New Orleans Saints will make Arizona's 42nd player appearance in the National Football League's Super Bowl on Feb. 7 in Miami.

Bell has played in 13 games for the Saints this year, his fourth in the NFL, and carried the ball 172 times for 654 yards and five scores. In his career, he's played in 37 NFL games with 1,376 rushing yards and 14 scores. He played his first two years with the Denver Broncos after signing as a free agent out of UA.

Bell is Arizona's fourth-leading rusher all-time, with 3,163 yards in his four-year career as a Wildcat from 2002-05.

He becomes the first Wildcat since Tedy Bruschi of the New England Patriots (and two New York Giants) appeared in a Super Bowl. Bruschi played in 2008, his fifth trip, which tied former offensive tackle Glenn Paker with the most Super Bowls among former Wildcats. Also in that game were Giants' safety Michael Johnson and linebacker Antonio Pierce, making their debut in the Super Bowl. Johnson and Pierce earned championship rings with a victory over the Pats in that 42nd edition.

Arizona players have suited up for the game 42 times. The first was receiver Ron Gardin for the Baltimore Colts in 1971.

Did You Know? (The Super Bowl will be played in Dolphin Stadium, which will be named Sun Life Stadium beginning with the NFL title tilt, after Sun Life Financials purchased the naming rights last week with a five-year contract. It marks the facility's seventh name since if opened in 1987. In order, that's Joe Robbie Stadium, Pro Player Park, Pro Player Stadium, Dolphins Stadium, Dolphin Stadium and Land Shark Stadium. The stadium has been called Dolphins Stadium for the past several weeks after a naming-rights deal with Land Shark Lager expired following the Orange Bowl Jan. 5.)

Super Bowl Cats


Glenn Parker, OL

5 (1991-94, 2001, Bills and Giants)

Tedy Bruschi, LB

5 (1997, 2002, 2004-05, 2008, Patriots)

Vance Johnson, WR

3 (1987-88, 1990, Broncos)

Randy Robbins, S

3 (1987-88, 1990, Broncos)

John Fina, OL

2 (1993, 1994), Bills

Ricky Hunley, LB

2 (1987-88, Broncos)

Mike Freeman, C

2 (1987-88, Broncos)

Theo Bell, WR

2 (1979-80, Steelers)

Jackie Wallace, CB

2 (1975, 1980, Vikings, Rams)

Michael Johnson, DB

2008, Giants

Antonio Pierce, LB

2008, Giants

Mike Bell, RB

2010, Saints

Lance Briggs, LB

2007, Bears

Joe Tafoya, DE

2006, Seahawks

Josh Miller, P

2005, Patriots

Frank Middleton, OL

2003, Raiders

Trung Canidate, RB

2002, Rams

Brandon Manumaleuna, TE

2002, Rams

Edwin Mulitalo, OL

2001, Ravens

Chris McAlister, CB

2001, Ravens

Joe Salave'a, DT

2000, Titans

Jose Portilla, OL

1999, Falcons

Brad Henke, DT

1990, Broncos

Mitch Hoopes, P

1976, Cowboys

Ron Gardin, WR

1971, Colts







Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder