ASU Baseball All-Decade Team: Andrew Romine

Jan. 27, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball will be naming an All-Decade Team for the 2000's. The 25-man roster is made up of players who played at least two seasons at Arizona State and who played in the past decade.

Andrew Romine, INFIELD, 2005-2007
Perhaps no Sun Devil fought through as much adversity as Andrew Romine did during his three seasons at Arizona State. After a stellar freshman season in 2005 that ended with a third place finish at the College World Series, Romine was diagnosed with a blood clot in his shoulder that cost him more than half of his sophomore season. Despite the medical setback, Romine returned at the end of 2006 and starred in 2007, finishing his ASU career with a .304 average and sterling defensive record. A second generation Sun Devil, Romine played in 144 career games, collecting 146 hits and swiping 40 bases. He was a two-time honorable mention All-Pac-10 selection who twice went to the College World Series and won the Pac-10 title in 2007. He was a fifth round pick of the Los Angeles Angels in the 2007 Major League Baseball Draft.

From 2000 to 2009, Arizona State baseball won 433 games, 157 Pac-10 games, appeared in the NCAA Tournament in each year and reached the College World Series three times. The Sun Devils won four Pac-10 titles, including the last three, finished in the Top 5 in the nation three times and saw 47 players earn First Team All-Pac-10 honors. Over the past 10 years, ASU has had six Pac-10 Players of the Year, two Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year, two Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year, a Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, three Academic All-Americans, 33 All-Americans and a National Player of the Year. Since 2000, 78 Sun Devils have been selected in the MLB Draft.

Petey Paramore, Catcher, 2006-2008
Tuffy Gosewisch, Catcher, 2002-2005
Jeff Larish, Infield/Outfield, 2002-2005
Eric Sogard, Infield, 2005-2007
Dustin Pedroia, Infield, 2002-2004
Brett Wallace, Infield, 2006-2008
Dennis Wyrick, Infield/Catcher, 2000-2003
Jeremy West, Infield/Designated Hitter, 2001-2003
Andrew Romine, Infield, 2005-2007

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder