Cal Names Andrew Wiedeman Team MVP, A.J. Soares Defensive MVP at Annual Banquet

Jan. 27, 2010

BERKELEY - California handed out its team awards at its annual banquet on Jan. 23, with former Golden Bear Andrew Wiedeman earning the Bob DiGrazia Most Valuable Player Award and junior A.J. Soares claiming the Defensive MVP honor. Wiedeman also took home Cal's Offensive Player of the Year Award.

Wiedeman, who completed his junior season and Cal career in 2009, was drafted by FC Dallas in the MLS SuperDraft on Jan. 14. He led the Bears in goals (11), points (26) and game-winning goals (5) and started all 18 games for the Bears. He also tied for second on the team with four assists. Wiedeman ended the regular season tied for second in goals and ranked third in points in the Pac-10. A second-team Academic All-American, the San Ramon, Calif. product also garnered All-Pac-10 first-team and NSCAA Far West All-Region first-team honors.

The team MVP award is named for the late Bob DiGrazia, Cal's decorated and longest-tenured soccer head coach who compiled a 202-133-39 record over 28 seasons (1953-80). DiGrazia led Cal to its first two NCAA tournament appearances, in 1960 and 1977.

Soares, a steady defender for the Bears, set career highs offensively in 2009, tying for fourth on the team in points (7) and scoring three goals. The Solana Beach, Calif. native also collected one assist and converted two penalty kicks. Soares likewise started all 18 games.

Midfielder Tony Salciccia, who tied Soares in points (7) and played in all 18 games, earned Cal's Freshman of the Year Award. The San Jose, Calif. product also posted two goals and three assists.

The Coaches' Award went to junior defender Josh Leon (Calabasas, Calif.), and fifth-year senior defender Jacob Wilson (Fremont, Calif.) won the Big C Award, given to the player who typifies Cal spirit.

Cal finished with a 9-81 overall record (3-6-1 Pac-10) in 2009.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder