Washington To Host 2010 NCAA Volleyball Regionals

Jan. 27, 2010

SEATTLE - With a reputation as one of college volleyball's most successful and respected programs - on the court and in the stands - the University of Washington has been a key destination for NCAA postseason play in recent years.

The NCAA has just announced that next season, for the fourth time since 2004, Bank of America at Hec Edmundson Pavilion will serve as one site for the 2010 NCAA Volleyball Regionals. The winner of the four-team regional, scheduled for Dec. 10-11, will advance to the NCAA Final Four at the Sprint Center in Kansas City, Mo.

The three other Regional hosts for 2010 include Penn State, Texas, and Dayton.

'The committee is excited to offer these opportunities to the institutions that bid on the regional championships,' said Terry Gawlik, the chair of the NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Committee. 'It's great to see institutions not only willing and able to host but also providing an avenue to expose and grow the volleyball championship across the country.'

In the six NCAA regional games it has hosted (NCAA first & second round games are not included), the UW has averaged nearly 5,500 fans per session. The Huskies defeated UCLA at home in 2004 to advance to their first-ever NCAA semifinal appearance. Two years later, the UW knocked-off fifth-seeded Penn State to qualify for its third-straight semifinal appearance. That was the last NCAA tournament loss for the Nittany Lions, who have won the last three NCAA titles.

In 2008, Washington swept Utah to reach the Regional final, but lost a five-set heartbreaker to the Nebraska Cornhuskers in the next match.

Stay tuned to GoHuskies.com for ticket information.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder