ASU Baseball All-Decade Team: Jason Kipnis

Jan. 29, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball will be naming an All-Decade Team for the 2000's. The 25-man roster is made up of players who played at least two seasons at Arizona State and who played in the past decade.

Jason Kipnis, OUTFIELD, 2008-2009
In two short years at Arizona State, Jason Kipnis left his mark on Sun Devil baseball. A transfer from Kentucky, Kipnis arrived in Tempe and hit the ground running, taking over the starting centerfield spot from the day he arrived on campus. He hit .378 in his two seasons at Arizona State, earning Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year honors in 2008 and Pac-10 Player of the Year honors in 2009. A five-tool player, Kipnis hit for average, power, played near flawless defense and could fly. He bashed 30 homers in his two seasons, recorded a .996 fielding percentage and stole 51 bases. He drove in 144 runs and scored 152 of his own, while drawing 102 walks. His .688 career slugging percentage is good for third best in school history. He was a Second Team All-American in 2008 and a unanimous First Team All-American in 2009, earning First Team All-Pac-10 honors both years. He also was an honorable mention Academic All-Pac-10 pick in 2009. He was a fourth round pick of the San Diego Padres in 2008, but opted to return to ASU in 2009, where he became a second round choice of the Cleveland Indians.

From 2000 to 2009, Arizona State baseball won 433 games, 157 Pac-10 games, appeared in the NCAA Tournament in each year and reached the College World Series three times. The Sun Devils won four Pac-10 titles, including the last three, finished in the Top 5 in the nation three times and saw 47 players earn First Team All-Pac-10 honors. Over the past 10 years, ASU has had six Pac-10 Players of the Year, two Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year, two Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year, a Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, three Academic All-Americans, 33 All-Americans and a National Player of the Year. Since 2000, 78 Sun Devils have been selected in the MLB Draft.

Petey Paramore, Catcher, 2006-2008
Tuffy Gosewisch, Catcher, 2002-2005
Jeff Larish, Infield/Outfield, 2002-2005
Eric Sogard, Infield, 2005-2007
Dustin Pedroia, Infield, 2002-2004
Brett Wallace, Infield, 2006-2008
Dennis Wyrick, Infield/Catcher, 2000-2003
Jeremy West, Infield/Designated Hitter, 2001-2003
Andrew Romine, Infield, 2005-2007
Steve Garrabrants, Infield, 2001-2003
Brooks Conrad, Infield, 1999-2001
Travis Buck, Outfield, 2003-2005
Jason Kipnis, Outfield, 2008-2009


Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder