ASU Baseball All-Decade Team: Casey Myers

Feb. 1, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball will be naming an All-Decade Team for the 2000's. The 25-man roster is made up of players who played at least two seasons at Arizona State and who played in the past decade.

Casey Myers, CATCHER, 1998-2001
Maybe no one in ASU baseball history was as big of a dual threat as Casey Myers. A bona fide superstar on the diamond, Myers was also a star in the classroom. A second-generation Sun Devil, Myers was a four-year starter at ASU who finished his stellar career with a .384 batting average in 219 games. He totaled 313 hits, third most in school history, and hit 39 home runs, good for eighth on the school’s list. Myers drove in 275 runs, the second most in school history, and also scored 198 times, 10th most at ASU. A three-time All-American, twice a First Teamer, and a Freshman All-American, Myers was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year in both 2000 and 2001, becoming the first Sun Devil to ever win the award twice and the third player in Pac-10 history to win in back-to-back years. He was an honorable mention All-Pac-10 pick in 1998 and twice a First Team All-Pac-10 pick, but Myers also filled his trophy case with academic awards. He was three times named First Team Academic All-Pac-10, three times named an Academic All-American and was the Academic All-American of the Year in 2000 and 2001. He also won the Pac-10 Medal in 2001. He helped lead ASU to the championship game of the 1998 College World Series and was a member of the Co-Pac-10 Champions in 2000. He was a ninth round selection of the Oakland Athletics in the 2001 Major League Baseball draft.

From 2000 to 2009, Arizona State baseball won 433 games, 157 Pac-10 games, appeared in the NCAA Tournament in each year and reached the College World Series three times. The Sun Devils won four Pac-10 titles, including the last three, finished in the Top 5 in the nation three times and saw 47 players earn First Team All-Pac-10 honors. Over the past 10 years, ASU has had six Pac-10 Players of the Year, two Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year, two Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year, a Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, three Academic All-Americans, 33 All-Americans and a National Player of the Year. Since 2000, 78 Sun Devils have been selected in the MLB Draft.

Petey Paramore, Catcher, 2006-2008
Tuffy Gosewisch, Catcher, 2002-2005
Jeff Larish, Infield/Outfield, 2002-2005
Dustin Pedroia, Infield, 2002-2004
Eric Sogard, Infield, 2005-2007
Brett Wallace, Infield, 2006-2008
Dennis Wyrick, Infield/Catcher, 2000-2003
Jeremy West, Infield/Designated Hitter, 2001-2003
Andrew Romine, Infield, 2005-2007
Steve Garrabrants, Infield, 2001-2003
Brooks Conrad, Infield, 1999-2001
Travis Buck, Outfield, 2003-2005
Jason Kipnis, 2008-2009
Colin Curtis, Outfield, 2004-2006
Ike Davis, Infield/Outfield/Pitcher, 2006-2008
Mitch Jones, Outfield, 1999-2000
Casey Myers, Catcher, 1998-2001

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network