ASU Baseball All-Decade: Jason Urquidez

Feb. 2, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball will be naming an All-Decade Team for the 2000's. The 25-man roster is made up of players who played at least two seasons at Arizona State and who played in the past decade.

Jason Urquidez, PITCHER, 2004-2005
Jason Urquidez made the most out of his two seasons at Arizona State, compiling 22 wins and a trip to the College World Series in 2005. Urquidez pitched in 48 games as a Sun Devil, starting 34. In his debut season in Tempe, he won 12 games, then followed that with 10 wins in 2005, becoming the first Sun Devil pitcher since Linty Ingram to win 10 or more games in back-to-back seasons. A workhorse, Urquidez threw 219 innings in Maroon and Gold, holding an ERA of 3.70 and striking out 192 batters. He was also a clutch performer, compiling a 3-0 record in NCAA Tournament play. He earned First Team All-Pac-10 honors in 2004 and honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors in 2005 before being drafted in the 17th round of the 2005 Major League Baseball Draft by the Arizona Diamondbacks.

From 2000 to 2009, Arizona State baseball won 433 games, 157 Pac-10 games, appeared in the NCAA Tournament in each year and reached the College World Series three times. The Sun Devils won four Pac-10 titles, including the last three, finished in the Top 5 in the nation three times and saw 47 players earn First Team All-Pac-10 honors. Over the past 10 years, ASU has had six Pac-10 Players of the Year, two Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year, two Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year, a Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, three Academic All-Americans, 33 All-Americans and a National Player of the Year. Since 2000, 78 Sun Devils have been selected in the MLB Draft.

Petey Paramore, Catcher, 2006-2008
Tuffy Gosewisch, Catcher, 2002-2005
Jeff Larish, Infield/Outfield, 2002-2005
Dustin Pedroia, Infield, 2002-2004
Eric Sogard
, Infield, 2005-2007
Brett Wallace, Infield, 2006-2008
Dennis Wyrick, Infield/Catcher, 2000-2003
Jeremy West, Infield/Designated Hitter, 2001-2003
Andrew Romine
, Infield, 2005-2007
Steve Garrabrants, Infield, 2001-2003
Brooks Conrad, Infield, 1999-2001
Travis Buck
, Outfield, 2003-2005
Jason Kipnis
, 2008-2009
Colin Curtis
, Outfield, 2004-2006
Ike Davis, Infield/Outfield/Pitcher, 2006-2008
Mitch Jones, Outfield, 1999-2000
Casey Myers, Catcher, 1998-2001
Mike Leake
, Pitcher/Utility, 2007-2009
Jason Urquidez, Pitcher, 2004-2005

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder