ASU Baseball All-Decade Team: Mike Leake

Feb. 2, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball will be naming an All-Decade Team for the 2000's. The 25-man roster is made up of players who played at least two seasons at Arizona State and who played in the past decade.

Mike Leake, PITCHER/UTILITY, 2007-2009
Perhaps no pitcher in Arizona State baseball history was as dominant as Mike Leake was over his three seasons in Maroon and Gold. A highly touted prospect out of Fallbrook, California, Leake arrived at ASU as the team’s closer, but quickly established himself as one of the most dominating starting pitchers in the nation. Leake pitched in 63 games for ASU, making 47 starts and compiling an eye-popping 40-6 mark with two saves. He totaled 390.1 innings with an ERA of 2.91 and struck out 360 hitters. He is one of only two players in school history to record 10 or more wins in three straight seasons and his 40 career wins is tied for third most in school history and is the second most in the aluminum bat era. After winning 13 games as a freshman and 11 as a sophomore, Leake saved his best for his final season in Tempe. He went 16-1 in 2009, leading the nation in victories. His 1.71 ERA and 162 strikeouts led the Pac-10. Leake was named the ABCA National Player of the Year in 2009, becoming the first Sun Devil to earn the honor since Paul Lo Duca in 1993. He was an All-American all three seasons for the Sun Devils, including unanimous First Team honors in 2009. He also earned First Team Freshman All-American honors in 2007. He was named First Team All-Pac-10 in each of his three seasons and became the first player in Pac-10 history to win back-to-back Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year awards. He was twice named First Team Academic All-Pac-10 and was named the Academic All-American of the Year in 2009. He led Arizona State to a Pac-10 Championship in all three of his seasons, one of only two players to win three Pac-10 titles, and pitched in two World Series. He was the On Deck Circle Most Valuable Player in 2009 and was a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award, the Howser Trophy and the National Pitcher of the Year Award. Leake was the eighth overall pick in the 2009 Major League Baseball Draft, going to the Cincinnati Reds. He was the highest selection for the Sun Devils since 1998.

From 2000 to 2009, Arizona State baseball won 433 games, 157 Pac-10 games, appeared in the NCAA Tournament in each year and reached the College World Series three times. The Sun Devils won four Pac-10 titles, including the last three, finished in the Top 5 in the nation three times and saw 47 players earn First Team All-Pac-10 honors. Over the past 10 years, ASU has had six Pac-10 Players of the Year, two Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year, two Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year, a Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, three Academic All-Americans, 33 All-Americans and a National Player of the Year. Since 2000, 78 Sun Devils have been selected in the MLB Draft.

Petey Paramore, Catcher, 2006-2008
Tuffy Gosewisch, Catcher, 2002-2005
Jeff Larish, Infield/Outfield, 2002-2005
Dustin Pedroia, Infield, 2002-2004
Eric Sogard
, Infield, 2005-2007
Brett Wallace, Infield, 2006-2008
Dennis Wyrick, Infield/Catcher, 2000-2003
Jeremy West, Infield/Designated Hitter, 2001-2003
Andrew Romine
, Infield, 2005-2007
Steve Garrabrants, Infield, 2001-2003
Brooks Conrad, Infield, 1999-2001
Travis Buck, Outfield, 2003-2005
Jason Kipnis, 2008-2009
Colin Curtis, Outfield, 2004-2006
Ike Davis, Infield/Outfield/Pitcher, 2006-2008
Mitch Jones, Outfield, 1999-2000

Casey Myers, Catcher, 1998-2001
Mike Leake, Pitcher/Utility, 2007-2009



Now on Pac-12 Network
8:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder