ASU Baseball All-Decade Team: Josh Satow

Feb. 3, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball will be naming an All-Decade Team for the 2000's. The 25-man roster is made up of players who played at least two seasons at Arizona State and who played in the past decade.

Josh Satow, PITCHER, 2005-2008
Often overlook by opponents because of his size, the crafty lefty Josh Satow put together a remarkable career over his four years in Tempe. Used sparingly during his freshman year of 2005, a season in which he went to the College World Series, Satow began to blossom as a pitcher as his career progressed. He pitched in 61 career games, starting 42, going 27-9 in those appearances. He won a Pac-10 leading 13 games in 2007, helping ASU to a Pac-10 title and a berth in the College World Series. He won nine games the following season, helping Arizona State again claim the Pac-10 crown. His Jamie Moyer-like repertoire helped produce 238 strikeouts in 284.2 career innings, helping Satow earn Second Team All-American honors and First Team All-Pac-10 honors in 2007 and honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors in 2008. He was a 25th round pick of the Tampa Bay Rays in the 2008 Major League Baseball Draft.

From 2000 to 2009, Arizona State baseball won 433 games, 157 Pac-10 games, appeared in the NCAA Tournament in each year and reached the College World Series three times. The Sun Devils won four Pac-10 titles, including the last three, finished in the Top 5 in the nation three times and saw 47 players earn First Team All-Pac-10 honors. Over the past 10 years, ASU has had six Pac-10 Players of the Year, two Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year, two Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year, a Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, three Academic All-Americans, 33 All-Americans and a National Player of the Year. Since 2000, 78 Sun Devils have been selected in the MLB Draft.

Dustin Pedroia, Infield, 2002-2004
Eric Sogard
, Infield, 2005-2007
Brett Wallace, Infield, 2006-2008
Dennis Wyrick, Infield/Catcher, 2000-2003
Jeremy West, Infield/Designated Hitter, 2001-2003
Andrew Romine, Infield, 2005-2007
Steve Garrabrants, Infield, 2001-2003
Brooks Conrad, Infield, 1999-2001
Travis Buck
, Outfield, 2003-2005
Jason Kipnis, 2008-2009
Colin Curtis, Outfield, 2004-2006
Ike Davis, Infield/Outfield/Pitcher, 2006-2008
Mitch Jones, Outfield, 1999-2000
Casey Myers, Catcher, 1998-2001
Mike Leake
, Pitcher/Utility, 2007-2009
Jason Urquidez, Pitcher, 2004-2005
Josh Satow, Pitcher, 2005-2008
Petey Paramore, Catcher, 2006-2008
Tuffy Gosewisch, Catcher, 2002-2005
Jeff Larish, Infield/Outfield, 2002-2005

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder