Crimson Tide Sweeps Wildcats

Jan. 30, 2010

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. - The No. 23 University of Arizona men's tennis team dropped their first match of the season, falling to No. 25 University of Alabama 4-0 at the Intercollegiate Tennis Association National Indoors at the University of Alabama Tennis Stadium.


The Wildcats (1-1, 0-0 Pac-10) struggled against a tough Alabama team and fell behind early in doubles competition.  The Crimson Tide's (1-1, 0-0 SEC)  duo of Ricky Doverspike and Ian Chadwell defeated junior Geoff Embry and senior Ravid Hazi in the No. 2 position, 8-3.  The Wildcats then bounced back with the help of duo Andres Carrasco and Andres Arango who won a tight 8-6 match against Alabama's Michael Thompson and Jarryd Botha.  The doubles point though went to the Crimson Tide's Saketh Myneni and Michael Davis who beat senior Pat Metham and junior Borja Malo in the No. 1 spot in a close 9-8 (7-2) finish.


In singles action, the University of Alabama's Houssam Yassine defeated Embry 6-4, 6-1 in the No. 5 spot.  The Crimson Tide's Myneni who is ranked No. 62 topped No. 113 ranked Jason Zafiros in the No. 1 position 6-3, 6-1.  The final point went to the Crimson Tide when Doverspike clinched the fourth point and the victory, by defeating Carrasco in two sets, 6-0, 6-3.


Before the Crimson Tide secured the win, Wildcats Arango, Malo and Metham all were winning their matches when play was suspended.  Arango won his first set 7-5 against Thompson and was down 0-1 in the second set when play was stopped.  Malo also won his first set 7-5 against Botha and was up 5-3 in his second set while Metham won his first set 6-2 against Chadwell, lossed his second set 3-6 and was ahead in his third set 3-1 when play was suspended.


'We'll bounce back from this loss,' head coach Tad Berkowitz said.  'We have another great opportunity against a top level team tomorrow.'


The Wildcats will play the loser of the No. 18 Duke University and No. 22 Auburn University match, tomorrow at 2:00 p.m. MST at the University of Alabama Tennis Stadium.




1. No. 62 Saketh Myneni (UA) def. No. 113 Jason Zafiros (ARIZ) 6-3, 6-1

2. Ricky Doverspike (UA) def. Andres Carrasco (ARIZ) 6-0, 6-3
3. No. 123 Michael Thompson (UA) vs.
Andres Arango (ARIZ) 5-7, 1-0, unf.

4. Jarryd Botha (UA) vs. Borja Malo (ARIZ) 5-7, 3-5, unf.
Houssam Yassine (UA) def. Geoff Embry (ARIZ) 6-4, 6-1
6. Ian Chadwell (UA) vs.
Pat Metham
(ARIZ) 2-6, 6-3, 1-3, unf.
Order of finish: 5,1,2*



1. Saketh Myneni/Michael Davis (UA) def. Pat Metham/Borja Malo (ARIZ) 9-8(2)
Ricky Doverspike/Ian Chadwell (UA) def. Geoff Embry/Ravid Hazi (ARIZ) 8-3
3. Andres Carrasco/Andres Arango (ARIZ) def. MichaelThompson/Jarryd Botha (UA) 8-6
Order of finish: 2,3,1

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder