ASU Baseball All-Decade Team: Mike Esposito

Feb. 4, 2010

TEMPE, Ariz. -

Arizona State Sun Devil Baseball will be naming an All-Decade Team for the 2000's. The 25-man roster is made up of players who played at least two seasons at Arizona State and who played in the past decade.

Mike Esposito, PITCHER, 2000-2002
In his three years with the Sun Devils, Mike Esposito established himself as a go-to pitcher in the starting rotation. The starter in 32 of his 35 career games, Esposito won 15 games with a 3.91 ERA in Maroon and Gold. He fanned 170 hitters in his 181.2 innings of work, earning honorable mention All-Pac-10 honors in his final two seasons. He was a 12th round choice of the Colorado Rockies in the 2002 Major League Baseball Draft, making his big league debut for the club in 2005.

From 2000 to 2009, Arizona State baseball won 433 games, 157 Pac-10 games, appeared in the NCAA Tournament in each year and reached the College World Series three times. The Sun Devils won four Pac-10 titles, including the last three, finished in the Top 5 in the nation three times and saw 47 players earn First Team All-Pac-10 honors. Over the past 10 years, ASU has had six Pac-10 Players of the Year, two Pac-10 Pitchers of the Year, two Pac-10 Newcomers of the Year, a Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, three Academic All-Americans, 33 All-Americans and a National Player of the Year. Since 2000, 78 Sun Devils have been selected in the MLB Draft.

Dustin Pedroia, Infield, 2002-2004
Eric Sogard, Infield, 2005-2007
Brett Wallace, Infield, 2006-2008
Dennis Wyrick, Infield/Catcher, 2000-2003
Jeremy West, Infield/Designated Hitter, 2001-2003
Andrew Romine, Infield, 2005-2007
Steve Garrabrants, Infield, 2001-2003
Brooks Conrad, Infield, 1999-2001
Travis Buck, Outfield, 2003-2005
Jason Kipnis, 2008-2009
Colin Curtis, Outfield, 2004-2006
Ike Davis, Infield/Outfield/Pitcher, 2006-2008
Mitch Jones, Outfield, 1999-2000
Casey Myers, Catcher, 1998-2001
Mike Leake, Pitcher/Utility, 2007-2009
Jason Urquidez, Pitcher, 2004-2005
Josh Satow, Pitcher, 2005-2008
Petey Paramore, Catcher, 2006-2008
Tuffy Gosewisch, Catcher, 2002-2005
Jeff Larish, Infield/Outfield, 2002-2005
Andre Ethier, Outfield, 2002-2003
Brett Bordes, Pitcher, 2003-2006
Zechry Zinicola, Pitcher/Utility, 2004-2006
Jon Switzer, Pitcher, 1999-2001
Mike Esposito, Pitcher, 2000-2002


Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder