Civil War to Serve as Alumni Weekend for Men's Basketball

Feb. 5, 2010

CORVALLIS, Ore. - The Oregon State men's basketball game against Oregon on Saturday will serve as the program's 'Alumni Weekend' as many Beaver greats will return to legendary Gill Coliseum to be honored at halftime as part of the 60th anniversary celebration.

The former men's basketball student-athletes who will be attending on Saturday helped make Gill Coliseum into one of the most recognizable arenas in college sports. Those slated to attend include:

James E. Anderson
Karl Anderson
Scott M. Gascho
Andre Lamar Hurd
William 'Bill' McShane
Bernard A. (Bud) Ossey
Bill Sherwood
A.C. Green
Tim Hennessy
Robert Lee Holbrook
David Lawson
Gary Arbelbide
Kyle Bjornstad
Brian Brundage
Richard Brust
Clifford Crandall
George Crandall
Col. Jack L. De Tour
Sam Dement
Scott Haskin
Robert W. Jacobson
Jim Jarvis
Joey McConnell
Ward Paldanius
Roy Karl Weide
Richard A. Reed
Richard G. Ballantyne
Victor Bartolome
Mark Henjum
Neal A. Jurgenson
Jamie Stangel
Tex Whiteman
Larry Copple
W. D. (Bill) Harper
Doug Oxsen
Thomas C. Holman
Ernie Johnson
Earl Martin
Paul Miller
Paul B. Valenti

Through the efforts of those listed above as well as many others, Gill Coliseum continues to be an integral part of the heritage of Oregon State athletics. Since its opening, Gill Coliseum has seen:

• Over 3,000 victories.
• Over 150 Oregon State All-Americans.
• More than 25 individual and team titles.

For tickets to the game against Oregon, which are $27 each, fans can purchase by calling the Oregon State ticket office at 1-800-GO-BEAVS or online at

Oregon State enters the most-played rivalry in NCAA Division I men's basketball with a record of 9-12 on the season, 3-6 in league play, after the Beavers split a pair of games against the Los Angeles schools. Oregon State defeated USC, 51-45, before dropping a 62-52 decision at the hands of UCLA.

The Beavers are looking for their first sweep of Oregon since the 1992-93 season.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network