Kim, Ziegler and Chung Named to Watch List for the 2010 Ben Hogan Award

Feb. 11, 2010

STANFORD, Calif. - Stanford golfers Sihwan Kim, Steve Ziegler and David Chung have been named to the watch list for the 2010 Ben Hogan Award, which honors the top amateur player in college golf.

Included on the 25-man Ben Hogan Award watch list are defending NCAA Division I champion Matt Hill of North Carolina State, PING First-Team All-America selections Morgan Hoffmann of Oklahoma State and Washington's Nick Taylor along with Walker Cup teammates Bud Cauley of Alabama, Wake Forest's Brendan Gielow, Hoffmann and Peter Uihlein of Oklahoma State.

Others on the 25-player watch list include Knut Borsheim of Arizona State, UNLV's Derek Ernst, Oscar Floren of Texas Tech, Wichita State's Dustin Garza, John Hahn of Kent State, Alabama's Hunter Hamrick, Russell Henley of Georgia, SMU's Kelly Kraft, Scott Langley of Illinois, Florida State's Seath Lauer, Corey Nagy of Charlotte, LSU's John Peterson, Jonathan Randolph of Mississippi, Oklahoma State's Kevin Tway and Trent Whitekiller and Oregon State's Diego Velasquez.

Only top-ranked Oklahoma State had more players (4) included on the watch list for collegiate golf's top individual honor than Stanford.

Kim, who has a trio of top-3 finishes to his credit this season, is currently ranked fifth nationally in the Golfweek/Sagarin men's individual rankings, while Chung is ranked 19th.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced on April 14 and the three finalists named on May 11 will be invited to the Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas for the Hogan Award presentation on May 24.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network