Taylor Named To Hogan Watch List

Feb. 11, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. - Husky senior Nick Taylor was announced as one of 25 players to the 2010 Ben Hogan Watch list on Thursday, as announced by Chesapeake Energy in association with Colonial Country Club. Taylor, from Abbottsford, B.C., was a semifinalist for the award as a junior.

Taylor is currently ranked as the No. 11 collegiate golfer by Golfweek.com. He has top-10 finishes in all six events he has played this fall and spring. He will lead the Huskies at the Battle of the Beach in Newport, California starting this Sunday.

The most prestigious award in men's college golf, the Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

Defending NCAA Division I champion Matt Hill of NC State highlights a list that also includes returning PING First-Team All-America selections Taylor and Morgan Hoffmann of Oklahoma State along with Walker Cup teammates Bud Cauley of Alabama, Wake Forest's Brendan Gielow, Hoffmann and Peter Uihlein of Oklahoma State. Others on the 25-player watch list include Knut Borsheim of Arizona State, David Chung, Sihwan Kim and Steve Ziegler of Stanford, UNLV's Derek Ernst, Oscar Floren of Texas Tech, Wichita State's Dustin Garza, John Hahn of Kent State, Alabama's Hunter Hamrick, Russell Henley of Georgia, SMU's Kelly Kraft, Scott Langley of Illinois, Florida State's Seath Lauer, Corey Nagy of Charlotte, LSU's John Peterson, Jonathan Randolph of Mississippi, Oklahoma State's Kevin Tway and Trent Whitekiller and Oregon State's Diego Velasquez.

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 14. The three finalists named on May 11 will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fourth Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 24.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder