Bruin Alum Jamaal Wilkes Named Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Finalist

Feb. 12, 2010

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame today named an elite list of players, coaches and teams as finalists to be considered for election to the Hall in 2010. Gaining the honor of being named a Hall of Fame finalist is one of the true highlights of a career in the sport of basketball.

Included on the list is UCLA's Jamaal Wilkes. A three-year starter at UCLA, he twice earned All-America honors while hellping the Bruins compile a record of 86-4 and win the 1972 and 1973 NCAA championships. He won the first 75 games of his career, helping UCLA establish its NCAA-record 88-game winning streak. He also earned Academic All-America honors for three straight years.

Wilkes' career scoring average of 15.0 still ranks 14th (tied) on UCLA's all-time list while his 1,349 points in 90 games rank No. 30 (he ranked seventh at the end of his Bruin career). His career average of 7.4 rebounds ranks 13th and he is No. 21 overall with 663 boards. He also shot .51.4% on his field goal attempts and 75.0% from the free throw line.

The 1975 NBA Rookie of the Year, he spent 12 years in the league with the Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Lakers and Los Angeles Clippers. He averaged 17.7 points and 6.2 rebounds. He won four NBA championships - one with the Warriors and three with the Lakers.

The complete list of finalists includes from the North American Screening Committee: players - Dennis Johnson, Bernard King, Karl Malone, Chris Mullin, Scottie Pippen and Wilkes; coaches - Bob Hurley, Don Nelson and Tex Winter; contributor - Jerry Buss; and the 1960 and 1992 men's USA Olympic teams. The finalists from the Women's Screening Committee include player Cynthia Cooper, coach Harley Redin and one team, the All-American Red Heads. From the International Screening Committee: coach Vladimir Kondrashin and Brazilian Legend Maciel 'Ubiratan' Pereira; and from the Veteran's Screening Committee: players Richard Guerin and Gus Johnson.

The Class of 2010 will be announced on Monday, April 5 at a news conference in Indianapolis prior to the NCAA's Men's Championship game. A Finalist needs 18 of 24 votes from the Honors Committee for election into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The Class of 2010 will be enshrined during festivities in Springfield, Mass. on Friday, August 13.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder