Velasquez Named to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

Feb. 12, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. - Oregon State senior Diego Velasquez was among 25 athletes named to The Ben Hogan Award watch list Thursday.

The Ben Hogan Award is the most prestigious award in men's college golf, the Hogan is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

'That's quite an honor,' head coach Brian Watts said. 'Anytime your name falls under the Hogan list, you've got to appreciate that.'

Velasquez, a senior from Bogota, Colombia, finished the fall season with the second-lowest scoring average in the country at 69.27 strokes.

'It's an amazing honor and it means a lot to me,' Velasquez said. 'To be in that list of great players tells me that I am right where I want to be in life. It reflects that the hard work I have put in day-in and day-out on the golf course, but especially off the golf course. The improvement of my mental game I believe is what has me here today.'

The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 14. The three finalists named on May 11 will be invited to Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 24.

Defending NCAA Division I champion Matt Hill of NC State highlights the list of finalists that also includes Morgan Hoffmann of Oklahoma State, Bud Cauley of Alabama, Wake Forest's Brendan Gielow, Peter Uihlein of Oklahoma State, Knut Borsheim of Arizona State, David Chung, Sihwan Kim and Steve Ziegler of Stanford, UNLV's Derek Ernst, Oscar Floren of Texas Tech, Wichita State's Dustin Garza, John Hahn of Kent State, Alabama's Hunter Hamrick, Russell Henley of Georgia, SMU's Kelly Kraft, Scott Langley of Illinois, Florida State's Seath Lauer, Corey Nagy of Charlotte, LSU's John Peterson, Jonathan Randolph of Mississippi, Oklahoma State's Kevin Tway and Trent Whitekiller and Washington's Nick Taylor.

Velasquez and the men's golf team will compete in the Battle at the Beach in Newport Beach, Calif. February 14-16.

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.You can make an 'everyday champion.' Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder