Wrestling Rallies to Win Season Finale Over Visiting Stanford, 24-13

Feb. 14, 2010

TEMPE - Trailing 13-0 through four matches on Senior Day, the Arizona State University wrestling team needed a spark and got just that as senior Erik Nye pinned his opponent to give the Sun Devils their first of six-consecutive match wins and a come-from-behind team victory as ASU downed visiting Stanford, 24-13, on Sunday inside Wells Fargo Arena in Tempe. The win pushed ASU to 9-7-0 on the year and 4-2-0 in the Pac-10 while the Cardinal slipped to 10-8-1 and 2-4-1 in the conference.

The dual opened at 165 pounds with the visitors taking an early 4-0 lead as Kyle DeBerry dropped a 10-0 major decision to No. 16 Nick Amuchastegui before Eric Starks lost a 5-2 decision at 174 pounds to Jake Johnson to see SU go ahead, 7-0. That lead grew to 10-0 after the 184 match as Jake Meredith lost a 5-0 decision to No. 13 Zack Giesen before Michael Hawkins dropped an 8-2 decision to Richard Kessler at 197 pounds, putting SU ahead, 13-0.

Originally announced as a win by forfeit at heavyweight for the Sun Devils, No. 14 Nye walked out to receive his victory when Kyle Hasson stepped onto the mat for the Cardinal. Once the match began, the Sun Devil senior quickly took his foe down and worked for the turn before getting Hasson on his back and sticking him in 2:32 for six team points and a 13-6 deficit for ASU in the team race.

Following a short intermission to recognize the program’s seniors - Nye, Angel Alegre, Imanibom Etukeren, Wes Fimbrez, Jake Hannaford and Tony Ruiz - the Sun Devils looked to continue the momentum and received a shot as No. 3 Anthony Robles won his 11th match in a row by scoring an 11-2 major decision over Ryan Mango. At 133 pounds, Ben Ashmore and Justin Paulsen were tied at 6-6 with 20 seconds remaining and Ashmore holding the riding time advantage. Ashmore rode his opponent until the final horn sounded to earn the bonus point and win the match, 7-6, giving ASU another three team points and tying the team score at 13-13.

No. 17 Chris Drouin carried the momentum for the team at 141 pounds and used multiple takedowns to score a 13-3 major decision over Bret Baumbach. With his four team points, the Sun Devils were ahead (17-14) for the first time all day and would not look back from there. Vicente Varela locked up the come-from-behind victory for the Sun Devils at 149 pounds as he scored a 6-5 decision over Tyler Parker, putting the hosts ahead by seven with one match remaining. In that final match, Te Edwards scored several takedowns to win an 11-3 major decision over Michael Kent to add four more team points and give ASU the team win, 24-13.

ASU will take one week off from competition before returning to Davis, Calif., on February 26-27 to compete in the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships.

Arizona State (9-7-0, 4-2-0 Pac-10) def. Stanford (10-8-1, 2-4-1 Pac-10), 24-13
Wells Fargo Arena • Tempe
165 - #16 Nick Amuchastegui (S) major Kyle DeBerry, 10-0
174 - Jake Johnson (S) dec. Eric Starks, 5-2
184 - #13 Zack Giesen (S) dec. Jake Meredith, 5-0
197 - Richard Kessler (S) dec. Michael Hawkins, 8-2
285 - #15 Erik Nye (AS) pinned Kyle Hasson, 2:32
125 - #3 Anthony Robles (AS) major Ryan Mango, 11-2
133 - Ben Ashmore (AS) dec. Justin Paulsen, 7-6
141 - #17 Chris Drouin (AS) major Bret Baumbach, 13-3
149 - Vicente Varela (AS) dec. Tyler Parker, 6-5
157 - Te Edwards (AS) major Michael Kent, 11-3
Referee: Matt Fitzgerald • Attendance: 371

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network