Pac-10 Diving Championships Begins on Thursday

Feb. 24, 2010

Diving Championships Release Get Acrobat Reader

  • Diving Championship Central | Diving Podcast Preview

    Pac-10 Men's Diving Team Notes

    ARIZONA: JR Ben Grado returns as Arizona's top diver after finishing in the top six of all three diving events as a sophomore at the 2009 Pac-10 Championships, including a runner-up showing on the platform. He opened the 2009-10 season by sweeping the springboard events against UNLV and Wisconsin, and later matched the feat against Southern Methodist. Against Texas on Jan. 29, he won the 1-meter and placed second on the 3-meter. At the USA Diving Winter National Championships on Feb. 4-7, Grado finished 12th on the platform. 

    ARIZONA STATE: JR Cameron Bradshaw, earned Pac-10 Diver of the Month honors for December when he finished third on the 1-meter at the prestigious Ohio State Invitational with a personal best of 361.20. He also finished 13th on the 3-meter with a score of 297.45. FR Riley McCormick, who swept the springboard events against California on Jan. 22, competed in the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China, on the 10-meter platform.

    CALIFORNIA: After placing fifth on 3-meter at the Conference Championship last year, and 10th and 16th on the 1- and 3-meter boards, respectively, at the 2009 NCAA Zone E Championships, JR Thomas Henninger is leading Cal's diving efforts again in 2010. He has finished in the top three at every dual meet in the first half of the season.

    STANFORD: Stanford's SR Dwight Dumais is the defending Pac-10 Champion on the 1-meter and was a 2009 All-American and 2006 Pac-10 Newcomer of the Year. He took third on the 1-meter board at the Wildcat Diving Invitational earlier this season. JR Brent Eichenseer will challenge the field in all three events as well. He won the 3-meter board and finished second on platform at the Bruin Invitational in January.

    USC: SO Harrison Jones returns to defend his Pac-10 platform diving title for the Trojans and improve upon second place finishes in both springboard events at the 2009 Pac-10 Championship. At the UCLA Diving Invitational in January, Jones defeated Stanford's Dwight Dumais on the 1-meter board. In November, he broke USC's McDonald's Swim Stadium record, scoring a 464.25 in 3-meter diving in a dual meet against Arizona State. He also won the 1-meter competition with a score of 370.00 and the platform competition with a score of 350.00 at the Trojan Diving Invitational in December.  At the 2010 USA Diving Winter National Championships, Harrison was third on the platform and fifth on the 3-meter board.


    Pac-10 Women's Divers to Watch 

    ARIZONA: SO Ainsley Oliver has consistently been Arizona's high scorer this season on the 1- and 3-meter boards.

    The sophomore finished third last year on the platform at the Pac-10 Championship.

    ARIZONA STATE: JR Brittany Jumer had a strong Pac-10 Championship in 2009, when she finished fourth on the 3-meter and sixth on the 1-meter board. SO Elina Eggers will look to contribute at this year's championships after opening the Pac-10 season against California by sweeping the springboard events.

    CALIFORNIA: SO Alissa Barker was Cal's sole diver to break into the top six in an event at last year's Pac-10 Championships when she finished fourth on the platform. SO Molly Hayes and FR Kelsey Heiken have been among the top diving scorers for the Golden Bears this season. Hayes helped Cal, which was ranked No. 5 at the time, upset then-No. 2 Arizona (165-134) on Jan. 23 when she swept the 1- and 3-meter events.

    STANFORD: SR Carmen Stellar and JR Meg Hostage will challenge for podium spots in all three diving events. Stellar is the defending Pac-10 champion in platform diving and finished fourth on the 1-meter and second on the 3-meter as a junior in 2009. Hostage finished third on both springboard events in 2009 and was the Pac-10 Newcomer and Diver of the Year in 2008.

    UCLA: All four Bruin divers, JR Karina Silva, JR Laura Winn, FR Maggy Boyd and FR Michelle Vale, will look to pick up point for UCLA in the team competition, while competing on all three boards. All four have already qualified for the NCAA Zone E Championships. Silva, the most veteran member of the Bruin divers, has consistently been the top scorer for the team this year. Winn will look to move up to the top this year after narrowly missing winning the 2009 Pac-10 title on the tower. 

    USC: In 2009, at her Pac-10 Championships debut, SO Tori Ishimatsu won the 3-meter title, placed second on the 1-meter and finished seventh on the platform. She continued her success at the 2009 NCAA Zone E Championships, where divers qualify to compete at the NCAA Championships, taking second on the 1-meter and third on both the 3-meter and the platform events. She finished the season placing fifth on the 1-meter at the 2009 NCAA Championships, garnering All-America honors. This season, Ishimatsu finished in eighth at the senior women 3-meter event at the 2010 USA Diving Winter National Championships. Ishimatsu's top competition at the Conference Championship may come from teammate FR Ariel Rittenhouse. Rittenhouse won both the 1- and 3-meter events against California and Stanford in dual meet competition in late January. Rittenhouse represented the United States at the 2008 Olympic Games in Beijing, China and finished fourth in the 3-meter synchronized event.


    Pac-10 2009-10 Divers of the Month


    Men's: Nov. - Harrison Jones, USC; Dec. - Cameron Bradshaw, ASU; Jan.- Ben Grado, ARIZ

    Women's: Nov. - Tori Ishimatsu, USC; Dec. - Elina Eggers, ASU; Jan. - Meg Hostage, STAN


    2008-09 Pac-10 Season in Review

    Pac-10 Women's Diver of the Year and Newcomer of the Year: Victoria Ishimatsu, a Seal Beach, Calif., native becomes the third freshman in Pac-10 history to earn both Diver and Newcomer of the Year accolades in the same season. In her Pac-10 Championships debut held in Federal Way, Wash., she won the 3-meter title, placed second on the 1-meter and finished seventh on the platform. She continued her success at the NCAA Zone E Championships, taking second on the 1-meter and third on both the 3-meter and the platform events and qualified for the NCAA Championships where she placed fifth on the 1-meter and garnered All-American honors.

    Pac-10 Men's Diver of the Year and Newcomer of the Year: Harrison Jones capped off a stellar freshman season by becoming USC's first diver in 10 years to earn multiple All-American honors in the same season while racking up Pac-10 Men's Diver and Newcomer of the Year accolades. The Spring, Texas, native finished fourth on the 1-meter and sixth on the platform at the NCAA Championships to earn the honors. At the Pac-10 Championships, Jones captured the platform crown with 417.60 points, outscoring the second-place finisher by 54.10 points. It was USC's first Pac-10 men's individual diving title since 2006. He also placed second on both the 1-meter and 3-meter springboards at the Conference championships.

    Pac-10 Men's and Women's Coach of the Year: Hongping Li, in his 10th season at the helm of the USC diving program, earned his sixth Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor on the women's side and first Pac-10 coach of the Year accolade on the men's side. The Beijing, China native has twice been named the NCAA Women's Diving Coach of the Year (2002 and 2006). Since becoming USC's diving coach in 2004, Li has sustained great success, with Trojan  men and women divers have combining to earn 29 All-America accolades and five NCAA titles.

  • Now on Pac-12 Network
    11:30 AM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network