Trojans Set To Host USC Collegiate Invitational

Feb. 24, 2010

Watch 'Trojan Voices': Matt Giles

The No. 17 USC men's golf team (as ranked by, led by two-time All-American Matt Giles, returns to action by hosting the 2010 USC Collegiate Invitational, Monday and Tuesday (March 1-2), at the North Ranch C.C. in Westlake Village, Calif.

The 14-team field includes Arizona State, BYU, California, Fresno State, Oregon, Oregon State, Pepperdine, San Diego State, Stanford, UC Davis, UCLA, UNC Charlotte, USC, San Diego. USC last won the team title in 2008. Trojans Rory Hie and Tim Sluiter won the individual title in 2007 and 2008, respectively.

Play will begin with 36 holes Monday with a shotgun start at 7:30 a.m., and will be followed by 18 holes on Tuesday, starting at 7:30 a.m. (with starting times off both nines). The course plays to a par 71 at 6,869 yards.

The event is open to the public. For directions, please see the end of these notes.

Live results of the event will be available at

USC, which lost three All-Americans from last season (Jamie Lovemark, Tim Sluiter and Tom Glissmeyer), competed in four team events in the fall season, finishing as high as a tie for fourth at The Presitge at PGA West. USC also tied for sixth at the Gifford Collegiate at CordeValle. Troy opened the spring semester with a ninth-place finish at the Mauna Lani Invitational.

The Trojans, led by two-time All-American junior Matt Giles, have received contributions from everyone on the roster this year.

Junior Daniel Park entered the spring with the squad's low stroke average (73.22), thanks in part to a tie for 13th at The Prestige, where he registered a 2-over 218 (74-71-73). He also tied for 28th at the Gifford Collegiate at par 216 (70-75-71).

Freshman Martin Trainer leads USC's group of four freshmen with four top 21 finishes and a stroke average of 73.27. He tied for 12th at the Ping-Golfweek Preview, tied for 18th at The Prestige at 3-over 219 (74-71-74), tied for 19th at the Olympia Fields-Fighting Illini Invitational and tied for 21st at the Mauna Lani Invitational.

Sophomore Steve Lim boasts USC's highest individual finish this year, a tie for third at The Prestige at 4-under 212 (72-71-69). He also tied for 13th at 4-under 212 (70-69-73) at the Gifford Collegiate.

Junior Bo DeHuff has seen action in four events, highlighted by a tie for 26th at the Bill Cullum Invitational, where he led USC finishers.

Giles tied for 10th to lead USC at the season-opening Olympia Fields, but has not cracked the top 10 since. Ranked among the nation's top golfers as a sophomore, Giles looks to get untracked this spring.

Freshman T.J. Vogel, in four starts, has a pair of top 30 finishes while fellow freshman Sam Smith, in five outings, has one. Rounding out the freshman class is Stewart Hagestad, who has seen action in three events and has one top 30 finish.

From the Hollywood (101) Freeway, headed north, take the Westlake Blvd. off ramp. Go north (right) approximately 2-1/4 miles to Valley Spring Drive. Turn right onto Valley Spring Drive. Go one mile to third stop sign (just past Club View entrance). Turn left into North Ranch Country Club. You can also click here for directions.

Past team champions
1978 Houston1979 UCLA1980 Arizona State1981 UCLA1982 Oklahoma State1983 Arizona State1984 UCLA1985 Oklahoma State1986 Arizona State1987 Oklahoma State1988 UTEP1990 Cal1991 USC1992 Arkansas1993 Arizona State1994 Stanford1995 Stanford1996 Arizona State1997 USC1998 Arizona State1999 Texas2000 Arizona State2001 Arizona State2002 USC2003 UCLA2004 Texas2005 Tennessee2006 Pepperdine2007 Stanford2008 USC200 Stanford

Past individual champions
1978 Corey Pavin UCLA1979 David Lee Arizona State1980 Dan Forsman Arizona State1981 Corey Pavin UCLA1982 Willie Wood Oklahoma State1983 Ken Earle Pacific1984 Sam Randolph USC1985 Brian Watts Oklahoma State1986 Larry Silveira Arizona1987 Bill Mayfair Arizona State1988 Dave Bishop UTEP1990 Ben Furth Cal1991 Dave Bishop UTEP1992 Jeff Lyons Oregon1993 Steve Burdick Stanford1994 Todd Demsey Arizona State1995 Mike Walton Pepperdine1996 Tiger Woods Stanford1997 Jason Gore Pepperdine1998 Paul Casey Arizona State1999 Joel Hendry New Mexico2000 Ryan Lavoie Oregon2001 David Yarnes Oregon State2002 Brock Mackenzie Washington2003 Steve Conway UCLA2004 Matthew Rosenfeld Texas2005 Aron Price Georgia Southern2006 Anthony Kim Oklahoma2007 Rory Hie USC2008 Tim Sluiter USC2009 Steve Ziegler Stanford

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network