Alexis Gray-Lawson Named a Finalist for the Women's Naismith Award

Feb. 25, 2010


The Atlanta Tipoff Club today announced the 30 midseason candidates for the 2010 Women's Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T. It is the one Player of the Year award whose winner is partially determined through fan voting.

The list was voted on by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, comprised of leading basketball journalists from around the country. The board based its criteria on player performances this season.

The Naismith Trophy presented by AT&T is the most prestigious national basketball award and is given annually to the women's college basketball player of the year. This year, the award will be presented at the NCAA Women's Final Four in San Antonio, Texas.

As a presenting sponsor since 2005, AT&T has set the standard in fan participation in determining this year's winner. Through the power and ease of text messaging, fan voting will account for an unprecedented 25 percent of the final results - more than any other national college basketball award.

Beginning March 22, AT&T wireless customers - and sports fans on other wireless networks - will be able to text their votes for the player of their choice. Fans will be eligible to cast their vote for the winner until 11:59 p.m. EDT on Saturday, April 3, 2010. AT&T is making the voting open to other wireless carriers, allowing even more fans to participate. Other wireless carriers must opt-in for their subscribers to participate. Standard messaging rates apply.

This year's finalists are: Jayne Appel (Stanford), Ashley Barlow (Notre Dame),Tina Charles (UCONN), Alysha Clark (Middle Tennessee), Elena Delle Donne (Delaware),Dawn Evans (James Madison), Tyra Grant (Penn State), Alexis Gray-Lawson (California),Kelsey Griffin (Nebraska), Brittney Griner (Baylor), Amber Harris (Xavier), Allison Hightower (LSU), Ashley Houts (Georgia), Shenise Johnson (Miami), Jantel Lavender (Ohio State), Gabriela Marginean (Drexel), Danielle McCray (Kansas), Maya Moore (UCONN), Kayla Pedersen (Stanford), Ta'Shia Phillips (Xavier), Samantha Prahalis (Ohio State), Andrea Riley (Oklahoma State), Danielle Robinson (Oklahoma),Jenna Smith (Illinois), Da'Shena Stevens (St. John's), Shekinna Stricklen (Tennessee), Jasmine Thomas (Duke), Bianca Thomas (Ole Miss), Courtney Vandersloot (Gonzaga), Monica Wright (Virginia).

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder