Stanford Softball Represented on 2010 U.S. National Team

Feb. 25, 2010

OKLAHOMA CITY - The Amateur Softball Association (ASA) of America has announced the roster and schedule for the 2010 USA Softball Women's National Team, which includes four current or former Stanford Cardinal.

Senior Alissa Haber and sophomore Ashley Hansen will join former Cardinal standouts Jessica Mendoza and Lauren Lappin on the 2010 USA National Team roster. Haber, Hansen and Lappin were also a part of the 2009 team which captured the Canada Cup and World Cup of Softball Gold Medals last season.

Mendoza, a 2004 Olympic Champion and 2008 Olympic Silver Medalist, makes her return to USA Softball after taking a year off for the birth of her child.

The team, which consists of 14 members from the 2009 USA Softball National Team, will kick off the season with exhibition games in Ohio, June 16-17.

The schedule of events starts with two exhibition games, June 16 at Thurman Munson Stadium in Canton, Ohio and June 17 at Brookside Park in Ashland, Ohio. The two exhibition games will feature a matchup of the USA Softball Women's National Team and the USA Futures Team (roster to be announced at a later date).

Less than a year after winning the Pan American Qualifier in Maracay, Venezuela, USA Softball will head back to Venezuela to defend its World Championship at the ISF World Championships in Caracas, Venezuela. The World Championship is June 21-July 3 with USA looking for its ninth Gold Medal.

Canada will next play host to the USA at the Canadian Open Fast Pitch International Championship, July 7-11, in Surrey, B.C. and exhibition games in Whitehorse, Yukon, July 13-14.

The USA will return home for its fans, July 22-26, with the World Cup of Softball 5. The World Cup is one of the premier events in International Softball and will bring together 2008 Olympic Gold Medalist Japan, Canada, USA Futures and three-time Olympic Gold Medalists USA. A complete schedule of events can be found here.

The final event on the schedule will be the Japan Cup, August 3-9, in Sendai City, Japan. The USA will look to defend its title after defeating Japan 2-0 in last year's Japan Cup Championship Game.

For the most up to date information on the USA Softball 2010 Women's National Team and all teams competing for the USA, log on to Fans can also keep up with the action by becoming a fan on Facebook at and Twitter at

The complete 2010 USA Softball Team:

Monica Abbott (Salinas, Calif.)
Chelsea Bramlett (Cordova, Tenn.)
Eileen Canney (Paradise, Calif.)
Ashley Charters (Beaverton, Ore.)
Kaitlin Cochran (Yorba Linda, Calif.)
Andrea Duran (Selma, Calif.)
Jennie Finch (La Mirada, Calif.)
Vicky Galindo (Union City, Calif.)
Alissa Haber (Newark, Calif.)
Ashley Hansen (Chandler, Ariz.)
Ashley Holcombe (Fayetteville, Ga.)
Lauren Lappin (Anaheim, Calif.)
Caitlin Lowe (Tustin, Calif.)
Jessica Mendoza (Camarillo, Calif.)
Cat Osterman (Houston,Texas)
Natasha Watley (Irvine, Calif.)
Tammy Williams (Roscoe, Mo.)

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder