Feb. 26, 2010

DAVIS, Calif. - Cal Poly is in the lead with 108.5 total points after the first day of competition at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships at the Pavilion in Davis, Calif.

Oregon State sits in second with 102.0 points while two-time defending champion Boise State is third with 97.5 points after two of the Broncos' No. 1 seeds were upset.

In fourth place is Cal State Bakersfield with 79.5 points while Arizona State is 3.5 points behind with 76.0 points. UC Davis (67.5), Stanford (66.5) and Cal State Fullerton (57.5) make up the bottom three and are in sixth, seventh and eighth, respectively.

In the first session, Arizona State saw eight of their 10 wrestlers advance, including top-seeded Anthony Robles at 125 pounds, while Boise State had seven Broncos move on.

The second session, however, played out much differently as two No. 1 seeds fell to No. 4 seeds in the semifinals.

At 141 pounds, Cal State Fullerton's Adin Duenas, seeded fourth, clinched a 3-1 sudden victory decision over top-seeded Levi Jones of Boise State to earn a place in the championship. Duenas will face No. 2 Filip Novachkov of Cal Poly who edged No. 6 Chris Drouin of Arizona State by a 4-2 decision.

Boise State would be stunned again by Cal State Fullerton as fourth- seeded Nick Fisher earned a pin at the 4:24 mark of the 149-pound semifinal to eliminate Jason Chamberlain, the No. 1 seed, and advance to the championship. Fisher will face UC Davis' Barrett Abel who earned a tough 5-3 decision over Arizona State's Vicente Varela.

Much of the rest of the evening played out as expected. After a 16-0 technical fall victory over UC Davis' Chris Armendariz in the first session, Robles picked up a spot in the 125-pound championship by way of a 5-2 decision over Stanford's Ryan Mango. Robles, currently ranked fourth nationally, will face second-seeded Jason Lara of Oregon State who defeated No. 6 Frank Lomas of Cal State Bakersfield by a narrow 3-2 decision.

UC Davis' Brandon Low, the top seed at 133 pounds, earned an exciting semifinal victory over Arizona State's Ben Ashmore to advance to the championship. With less than 30 seconds remaining in the third period, Low used a takedown to go up 4-3 on Ashmore, then held on to preserve the victory. He will face third-seeded Boris Novachkov of Cal Poly who topped Oregon State's Kelly Kubec 6-0.

The 157-pound championship will showcase a classic one versus two matchup as Boise State's Adam Hall narrowly edged Arizona State's Te Edwards by a 6-5 decision. Edwards used an escape to tie the score at five points apiece with less than 30 seconds left, but Hall earned a bonus point by way of over two minutes of riding time to get the victory and a spot in Saturday's finals. He will face Cal Poly's Chase Pami who handed Oregon State's Keegan Davis a 15-3 major decision to advance.

Cal State Bakersfield's Michael Larson, the No. 3 seed, earned a 3-2 upset decision at 184 over Stanford's Zach Giesen, seeded second, to advance to the finals. Larson will take on Boise State's Kirk Smith who is seeded No. 1 and is currently the top-ranked wrestler in the country at 184 pounds. Smith earned a 9-1 major decision over Arizona State's Jake Meredith, who was the No. 5 seed.

Another upset occurred at 197 as Cal Poly's Ryan Smith beat out Oregon State's Chad Hanke with a 7-6 decision. Smith will face Riley Orozco, the No. 1 seed, in the championship after Orozco defeated Boise State's Matt Casperson by a 9-3 decision.

The 285-pound championship will also feature a one versus three matchup as Oregon State's Clayton Jack, seeded third, pinned Arizona State's Erik Nye at the 3:26 mark to advance to the championship.Jack will face No. 1 Mitch Monteiro of Cal State Bakersfield who earned an 8-1 decision over Cal State Fullerton's Kurt Klimek.

In total, Saturday's championship round will feature four bouts between the top two seeds, four one-versus-three matches, and two matchups between the No. 4 and No. 2 seeds.

Action at the 2010 Pac-10 Wrestling Championships resumes Saturday at noon with the consolation semifinals and fifth- and seventh-place matches. The championship finals will begin at 4 p.m.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder