Ejdervik Wins Pac-10 Title in 100 Breast

Feb. 26, 2010

Rebecca Ejdervik's win the 100 breast highlighted the Arizona State women's swimming team's second day of competition at the Pacific-10 Women's Swimming Championships. The Sun Devils are in sixth place with 424 points.

Ejdervik became the Sun Devils' eighth Pac-10 Champion and first since Caitlin Andrew won the 100 fly in 2005. Ejdervik clocked in at 1:00.06 to earn an NCAA consideration time along with the conference crown. This is the second time a Sun Devil has won the 100 breast as Beata Kaszuba won the event in 1993 and 1995. Ejdervik is now third on ASU's all-time list. She is also Dorsey Tierney-Walker's first Pac-10 Champion.

Jordyn Green finished seventh in 100 breast as she clocked in at 1:01.87. Her time is good enough for an NCAA consideration time. She is now fourth on ASU's all-time list.

Jamie Martinez also reached an event final. The senior clocked under the NCAA 'B' standard for a time of 53.65 to place fifth overall. She is second on ASU's all-time list in the event. Mirela Kardasevic also competed in the 100 back, touching the wall at 55.99 in the 'C' final. This ranks her ninth on ASU's all-time list.

Paige Schultz placed second in the 'C' final, touching the wall at 1:47.41. Her time is not only under the NCAA 'B' cut but puts her at fourth on ASU's all-time. Shannon Landgrebe earned an NCAA consideration time of 1:48.16. The time is good enough for seventh on ASU's all-time list.

Caroline Kuczynski clocked in an NCAA consideration time of 53.78 in the 100 fly. Her time puts her at fourth on ASU's all-time list. Penelope Yamauchi earned a time of 4:23.64 in the 400 IM.

The 400 medley relay placed fifth with a time of 3:36.79, which the second-fastest time in ASU history. The team of Martinez, Ejdervik, Kuczynski and Katie Haron scored 50 points for the Sun Devils.

The Pac-10 Championships conclude tomorrow.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder