USC's Jones and Ishimatsu Earn Individual Pac-10 Titles at Day Two of the Pac-10 Diving Championships

Feb. 26, 2010

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. -- The USC diving team swept the events at the second day of competition for the Pac-10 Diving Championships at the Weyerhauser King County Aquatic Center. Trojan diver Harrison Jones secured his second career Pac-10 title, in the 1-meter springboard event with a score of 411.20 while Victoria Ishimatsu won her second title of the weekend in the 3-meter with a 381.15.

USC and Arizona State continued their strangle hold on the podium.Through four events, 10 of the 12 divers to podium have been from those teams.

Jones, a sophomore All-American from Spring, Texas held off Arizona State's Constantin Blaha, who finished second with a score of 404.70. It was the second time on the podium this weekend for Blaha after winning the 3-meter competition yester-day.

Arizona's Benjamin Grado was third with a 391.75, followed by Stanford's Brent Eichenseer (4th, 386.85), Arizona State's Riley McCormick (5th, 364.95), USC's Steven Starks (6th, 349.45), ASU's Cameron Bradshaw (7th,343.80) and California's Thomas Henninger (8th, 314.65).

Ishimatsu needed a solid final dive after Arizona State's Elina Eggers earned high scores from her finale, including a 10 from one judge.Ishimatsu answered the call, and took home the title. Eggers finished second with a 377.25, while Ishimatsu's teammate Ariel Rittenhouse placed third with a 366.60. It was the second podium of the competition for both divers.

Carmen Stellar of Stanford was fourth with a 338.65. Other finalists included Margaret Hostage of Stanford (5th, 331.95), Michela Fossati-Bellani of USC (6th, 307.10), Brittany Jumer from Arizona State (7th, 300.00) and California's Kelsey Heiken (8th, 282.90)

The Pac-10 Diving Championships conclude tomorrow with the platform events for both the men and women. Live scoring of the events can be found on