Arizona State's McCormick and Eggers Win Platform Pac-10 Title at the Final Day of Competition at the Pac-10 Diving Championships

Feb. 27, 2010

FEDERAL WAY, Wash.- Conference records were broken in both events and Arizona State divers earned two conference platform titles in the last day of competition at the Weyerhauser King County Aquatic Center. Freshman Riley McCormick broke the record he set earlier in the day with a 476.80 in the finals, while teammate, sophomore Elina Eggers won her first Pac-10 title with a 308.75.


Both McCormick and Eggers competed in the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, China in this event. Eggers dove for Sweden while McCormick competed for Canada.


Eggers entered the finals in second to UCLA's Karina Silva, who set a Pac-10 record in the prelims with a score of 312.70.  The previous five dive record was 296.85 by Tiffany Manning in 2006.


Egger edged Silva in the finals, as Silva finished with a score of 265.70.  Rounding out the podium was Silva's Bruin teammate Laura Winn, who finished third with a score of 265.40.  Stanford's Carmen Stellar was fourth (258.35), followed by USC's Tori Ishimatsu (5th, 258.20), Arizona's Ainsley Oliver (6th, 251.25), USC's Michela Fossati-Bellani (7th, 229.40) and USC's Alexis DeMond (8th, 201.95)


McCormick became the second freshman from Arizona State to win an event this weekend along with Constantine Blaha who won the men's 3-meter colmpetition.  McCormick overcame a healthy lead by USC's Harrison Jones, who finished second with a score of 449.00.  Stanford's Brent Eichenseer rounded out the podium with a 391.85. 


Other finalists included Blaha (4th, 387.30), Arizona's Benjamin Grado (5th, 378.15), USC's Steven Starks (6th, 318.15), Arizona's Andres Guerra (7th, 303.50) and Matthew McCahill (8th, 195.25).


Ishimitsu was named the Women's Diver of the Meet after winning the 1-meter and 3-meter competition and placing fifth in the platform. Blaha was named Men's Diver of the Meet, winning the 3-meter before placing second in the 1-meter and fourth in the platform competitions.


Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network