No. 15 Beavers Prepare for USC Collegiate Invitational

Feb. 27, 2010


The Oregon State men’s golf team, ranked 15th in the latest Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings, travels to Westlake Village, Calif. to compete at the USC Collegiate Invitational, Mar. 1-2. The tournament is stacked full of talented teams with 12 of the 14 teams ranked among the top 50 in the nation.

The USC Invitational is familiar territory to the Beavers, who are coming off of a fourth place finish in the Battle at the Beach two weeks ago.

“I expect our familiarity with the tournament and the course to help us,” head coach Brian Watts said. “We’ve played this golf course many times. I think this is my 13th year there and with that knowledge and the guys we have going, I feel very confident. A couple of our guys have played there in past years and although they didn’t shoot the numbers they were capable of, I think they learned a lot about the course and should be in a lot better shape going in this year.”

The tournament will be played at the North Ranch Country Club which is par-71, 6,869 yards with Bermuda grass. It is a 54-hole tournament consisting of three 18-hole rounds, with 36 continuous holes played on Monday followed by a final round on Tuesday.

“It’s a golf course that is really demanding off the tee, into the greens, hitting to the right tier, and keeping it below the hole.”

The lineup card for the Beavers consists of senior Diego Velasquez, Mike Barry and Paul Peterson as well as sophomores Morten Madsen and Jonnie Motomochi.

The field for this year’s event includes No. 2 Stanford, No. 11 UCLA, No. 14 Arizona State, No. 15 Oregon State, No. 17 USC, No. 19 Oregon, No. 21 California, No. 30 San Diego State, No. 31 San Diego, No. 46 Pepperdine, No. 48 Fresno State and No. 50 UNC Charlotte as well as BYU and UC Davis.

The USC Collegiate Invitational has seen some of golf’s greatest athletes compete in the tournament. Among the past winners of the USC Invite are Tiger Woods, who won while competing for Stanford in 1996, and rising PGA Tour star Anthony Kim won for Oklahoma in 2006. OSU’s David Yarnes won the individual title in 2001.

Live stats will be available via

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.You can make an 'everyday champion.' Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder