Feb. 27, 2010

Davis, Calif. - Colby Covington won the 174-pound title and Mike Mangrum rallied from a first round loss to finish third at 141 pounds to lead Oregon State to its 18th Pac-10 Wrestling Championship Saturday at The Pavilion in Davis, Calif.

Oregon State finished with 127.0 total points after seeing six Beaver wrestlers finish in the top three of their respective weight classes. Boise State finished second with 125.0 points while Cal Poly was third with 120.0 points.

Arizona State placed fourth with 104.5 points while Cal State Bakersfield finished fifth with 97.0 points. Stanford (87.0), UC Davis (79.0) and Cal State Fullerton (77.0) were sixth, seventh and eighth, respectively.

'It was a team effort,' said Oregon State head coach Jim Zalesky.'In this tournament everybody contributed and scored points. It was a good team effort. Covington won it and I think that's important.Mangrum came back and the way he got beat in the first round and came back to place third was a great effort. I think they paced us and everybody else really came in and contributed.'

Oregon State last won the Pac-10 team title in 2007.

The Beavers will send five wrestlers to the 2010 NCAA Division I Championship in Omaha, Neb.

At 125, Arizona State's Anthony Robles won the title for the second straight year after defeating Oregon State's Jason Lara by a 9-3 decision. He and Lara earned automatic spots at the NCAA Championships as did Stanford's Ryan Mango and Cal State Fullerton's Andre Gonzalez who finished third and fourth, respectively.

The 133-pound final saw Boris Novachkov of Cal Poly, the third seed, narrowly edge UC Davis' Brandon Low, the top seed. Low earned a takedown with less than 15 seconds remaining to tie the score at three points a piece, but Novachkov earned a bonus point for amassing over two minutes of riding time.

The Pac-10 received five qualifying spots at 133 and will send Novachkov and Low as well as Oregon State's Kelly Kubec who was third and Arizona State's Ben Ashmore who was fourth. Stanford's Justin Paulsen will also make the trip to the postseason.

Cal State Fullerton's Adin Duenas was named Most Outstanding Wrestler after outlasting six wrestlers ranked in the top-25 nationally to win the 141-pound championship. Duenas, the No. 4 seed, topped Boise State's Levi Jones, the No. 1 seed, in Friday's semifinals. He defeated Cal Poly's Filip Novachkov by a 9-3 decision to win the individual title and earn a spot at the NCAA Championships.

'This award means a lot because I didn't expect it at all,' said Duenas. 'Coming in seeded fourth and taking first means a lot. It came down to wrestling hard and never giving up and good things come to those who work hard. The top six guys in my weight were all ranked nationally in the top-25 so to come out in first place is really big for me.'

The 141-pound bracket also earned five qualifying spots. Duenas will be joined by Filip Novachkov, Mangrum, Elijah Nacita of Cal State Bakersfield who was fourth and Arizona State's Chris Drouin who placed fifth.

UC Davis won its first individual championship since 2007 when Barrett Abel earned a 12-9 decision over Cal Poly's Nick Fisher to claim the 149-pound title. In addition to Abel and Fisher, Boise State's Jason Chamberlain will advance to the postseason after finishing third.

At 157 pounds, Boise State's Adam Hall snapped two-time defending champion Chase Pami's streak with a 5-1 decision to claim the title.Hall and Pami will advance to the NCAA Championships as will Arizona State's Te Edwards who finished third.

The 165-pound bracket only had one automatic qualifying spot which went to Stanford's Nick Amuchastegui who edged Oregon State's Dan Brascetta by a 2-1 decision.

Covington's win at 174 also stopped Boise State's Nathan Lee from winning his third straight title. Covington edged Lee with a 3-2 decision to win the championship and earn one of three qualifying spots for the NCAA Championship. Lee and Ryan DesRoches of Cal Poly earned the other two places.

The 184-pound bracket and the 197-pound bracket only received two spots apiece. Kirk Smith, ranked No. 1 in the country, pinned Cal State Bakersfield's Michael Larson at the 4:46 mark to win his second straight individual title. He and Larson both advance to the NCAA Championship. At 197, Cal State Bakersfield's Riley Orozco won his first title with an 11-5 decision over Cal Poly's Ryan Smith. Smith and Orozco will both move on to the postseason.

The heavyweight class was another deep bracket as five spots were awarded to the Pac-10 for the NCAA Championships. Cal State Bakersfield's Mitch Monteiro won his second consecutive title with a 9-5 decision over Oregon State's Clayton Jack. Monteiro and Jack will be joined by Ricky Alcala of UC Davis who finished third and Kurt Klimek of Cal State Fullerton, the fourth place finisher. Boise State's Sam Zylstra, the No. 6 seed, narrowly defeated Erik Nye of Arizona State, seeded second, to earn the fifth and final spot.

The 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships begin March 18 in Omaha, Neb.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network