Swimming Finishes Sixth at Pac-10 Championships

Feb. 27, 2010

The Arizona State University women's swimming team concluded the Pacific-10 Championships with 635.5 points to finish sixth place. The Sun Devils earned several NCAA consideration times on the final day and will await to find out which individuals are selected for the NCAA Championships on Monday.

Sophomore Jordyn Green highlighted the Sun Devils final day as she reached her fourth Pac-10 championship final of her short career. Green clocked in an NCAA consideration time of 2:11.86 to finish sixth in the 200 breast. Newly crowned Pac-10 100 breast champion, Rebecca Ejdervik, earned a time of 2:14.73 in the longer breaststroke event. Her time was below the NCAA 'B' cut and puts her at sixth on ASU's all-time list. Penelope Yamauchi swam a time of 2:15.71 in the preliminaries which is an NCAA 'B' standard as well as 10th on ASU's all-time list.

Senior Jamie Martinez swam her last event at the Pac-10 Championships by finishing 10th in the 200 back. Her time of 1:55.84 is under the NCAA 'B' standard and is just shy of her own personal record. Paige Schultz clocked in an NCAA consideration time of 1:59.24 to put herself at seventh on ASU's all-time list.

Ashley Evans made her mark on ASU's top 10 list as she clocked in a personal best time of 50.18 in the 100 free. Her time not only puts her at eighth all-time but is additionally below the NCAA 'B' cut. Shannon Landgrebe, Katie Haron and Cassie Morrice also swam the 100 free, earning times of 50.35, 50.58 and 51.42 respectively.

Shannon Garrett placed 11th in the 1650 freestyle. With a time of 16:38.5, she earned her first NCAA consideration time of the season and narrowly missed ASU's all-time list.

The 400 freestyle relay team of Schultz, Landgrebe, Haron and Evans combined for a time of 3:21.94. Their fifth-place finishing time was good enough for an NCAA consideration standard.

The Sun Devils will await to see who is selected for the NCAA Championships.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network