Four Points Separate Top Three Spots After Day One

March 3, 2010

Live Stats/Results | Pac-10 Central

LONG BEACH, Calif.-- As expected, it's a three-team race after the first day of the Pac-10 Championships, as four points separate first place and No. 1-ranked Arizona (72 points), second place and No. 4-ranked California (70) and third place and No. 3-ranked Stanford (68).

Stanford twice finished second in the two relays, the 200-yard medley and the 800 free relay.

Cal won the first event of the day, the 200 medley with a time of 1:24.85, four-tenths in front of second place Stanford (1:25.25) and nearly eight-tenths better than third place Arizona (1:25.62). The Cardinal had two of the fastest times in the medley.

Eugene Godsoe led off with the fastest 50 backstroke time of the first eight competitors at 21.44, before Cal's Damir Dugonjic over took Curtis Lovelace on the second leg of the breaststroke by four-tenths of a second. Graeme Moore added another second as Alex Coville fought off Arizona's Jordan Slaughter to remain in second. David Dunford finished off the relay with the fastest 50 free time, at 18.81, pushing Stanford's lead over Arizona to nearly four-tenths of a second and finishing sixth-tenths off the leader.

The Cardinal finished second to USC's time of 6:19.17 by just over three-tenths of a second (6:19.52) in the second relay of the night. After starting off third, the Cardinal and the Bears fought for second place as Rob Andrews overtook Cal's Tom Shields on the final lap to touch the wall first. Arizona was fourth with a mark of 6:22.60.

Points will also be given to each team based on last week's diving championships in Federal Way, WA. Brent Eichenseer earned 80 points following third place showings  in the three-meter (28 points) and platform (28), and a fourth finish in the one-meter (27). Eichenseer was the lone Stanford diver in the finals after All-American Dwight Dumais was lost for the season in January due to a shoulder injury.

Stanford is looking to win its 29th-straight Pac-10 Championship for head coach Skip Kenney.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder