Men's Swimming Opens Pac-10 Championships

March 3, 2010

LONG BEACH, Calif. - The Arizona State men's swimming team finished opening day of the Pacific-10 Men's Swimming Championships in fifth place with 56 points. The conference championships continue through Saturday.

The 800 freestyle relay team of Xavier Mohammed, Adrian Kirkpatrick, Caleb Veazey and Yutaro Yamashita placed fifth. The team clocked in under the NCAA consideration time with a time 6:31.53. Mohammed opened the relay with a time of 1:36.60, which is under the NCAA 'B' cut for the 200 free.

The Sun Devils also placed fifth in the 200 medley relay. The team of Max Laney, Jesper Akesson, James Rigg and Nolan Ruane combined to clock in at 1:30.06.

The Sun Devils will compete in the 500 free, 200 IM, 50 free and 200 free relay tomorrow.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network