Cardinal Swimming Wins 29th Straight Pac-10 Title

March 6, 2010

LONG BEACH, Calif.-- Eugene Godsoe was named the Pac-10's Swimmer of the Meet, as he (200 backstroke), along with Bobby Bollier (200 butterfly) and Chad La Tourette (1650 freestyle) each won on Saturday to lead Stanford to its 29th-straight Pac-10 men's swimming title.

Godsoe finished off a solid championship, winning both backstrokes for the second-straight year, including the 200-yard event on Saturday (1:40.97). He was also a runner-up in the 100 butterfly.

'It was one of the best team efforts, top to bottom, that I have ever witnessed,' said Kenney, who has been the head coach for all 29 championships.

Stanford entered the final day, trailing Cal by 10 points, but finished on top with 897 points, in front of second place Cal  (829.5) and third place Arizona was third (654.5). Stanford won seven events over the four days and were in second place another 11 times.

Bollier twice set the Pac-10 record in the 200 butterfly en route to repeating as a Pac-10 champion in the event. He posted a record time of 1:42.30 in the morning, before leading the pack in the evening with a mark of 1:41.84. Bollier was just five one-hundreths from his school-record (1:41.79). David Mosko was third at 1:43.16. It was Bollier's second title of the meet, as he won the 400 IM on Friday.

It didn't take long for Stanford to retake the lead, as La Tourette's win in the day's first event, the 1650 freestyle (14:46.70) followed by Mosko's second place finish (14:57.37) gave the lead back to the Cardinal. Stanford then extended its lead when Godsoe touched the wall in the 200 backstroke (1:40.97), ahead of teammate Matt Thompson (1:42.09).

Stanford extended the lead further, when they placed five swimmers in the finals of the 100 free. David Dunford led the troops with a mark of 43.17 for third place behind Bear Nathan Allard's top time of 42.35, extending Stanford's lead over Cal to 97 points.

Stanford then put two swimmers in the finals of the 200 breaststroke, as Curtis Lovelace and John Criste touched the wall at the same time for second place (1:54.99), behind Arizona's Carl Mickelson (1:54.96).

Bollier's victory iced the title, with Brent Eichenseer's third place showing in last week's platform followed by the 400 free relay runner-up finish closing out the meet.

The team's 29-straight titles continues a Pac-10 record, spanning U.S. Presidents Reagan (1981) to Obama (2010).  Points were awarded for finishes 1-16 over the course of 21 events.

Full results available here:

Top Finishers for the Cardinal

200 Medley Relay-2nd
800 Freestyle Relay-2nd

*500 freestyle-(Mosko, first)
200 individual medley (Thompson, second)
50 freestyle (Dunford, second)
*200 freestyle relay-1st (Coville, Wayne, Allen, Dunford)

*400 individual medley (Bollier, first)
100 butterfly (Godsoe, second)
200 freestyle (Priestley, fifth)
100 breaststroke (Lovelace, second)
*100 backstroke (Godsoe, first)
400 medley relay-2nd

*1,650 freestyle (La Tourette, first)
*200 backstroke (Godsoe, first)
100 freestyle (Dunford, third)
200 breaststroke (Lovelace/Criste, tied-second)
*200 butterfly (Bollier, first)
400 freestyle relay-2nd

* - Pac-10 Champion

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder