No. 1 Wildcats Place Third at Pac-10's

March 6, 2010

Full Results in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

LONG BEACH, Calif. – No. 1—ranked Arizona finished the 2010 Men’s Pac-10 Championships third overall and looks to be revved and ready to go for the NCAA Championships in three weeks.


In the 1650 free, All-American Jean Basson placed eighth overall with a time of 15:23.39.  Basson looks to be among the top eight at NCAA’s in Columbus, Ohio.


The Wildcat backstroke trio of Cory Chitwood, Jake Tapp and Bryan O’Connor all qualified for the final heat in the 200 backstroke.  O’Connor was third overall with a time of 1:42.58 followed by Chitwood and Tapp in fourth and sixth, respectively.


In the 100 free, Nimrod Shapira Bar-Or, Joel Greenshields and Jordan Smith qualified in the ‘B’ heat, placing fourth, fifth and sixth, respectively.    


Freshman Carl Mickelson achieved his first postseason title by claiming the 200 breaststroke in a time of 1:54.96.  Mickelson was followed by teammates Kevin Munsch (in fourth) and Clark Burckle (in sixth).


One night after placing sixth in the 100 fly, Jordan Slaughter repeated that performance as he was sixth again in the 200 fly in 1:46.39.  Follow Tennessee flyer A.J. Tipton won the “B” heat of the 200 fly in 1:44.19.


In the final event of the Pac-10 Championships, UA was third overall in the 400 free relay with the team of Smith, Shapira Bar-Or, Greenshields and Rob Iddiols racing to a time of 2:53.74.


Next, the Arizona men will head to Columbus, Ohio for the NCAA Championships, March 25-27.


Final Standings


1. Stanford – 897

2. Cal – 829.5

3. Arizona – 654.5

4. USC – 521

5. ASU – 326


Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network