Stanford Men's Rowing Completes Successful Day At Davis Invitational

March 7, 2010

PORT OF SACRAMENTO, Calif. - Stanford men's rowing opened up the spring portion of its 2010 season in resoundingly successful fashion Sunday, winning all of the collegiate events in which its boats were entered at the Davis Invitational at the Port of Sacramento.

'The frosh team traveled well, raced extraordinarily and complemented a complete team effort on and off the water,' said Stanford Director of Rowing and men's head coach Craig Amerkhanian. 'UC Davis put on a great event that allowed our team to test themselves against many top West Coast schools.'

The Cardinal frosh eight got things started off early in the morning, racing out to a nearly 31-second victory in the Novice 8+ race. Stanford, which crossed the line in 6:13.5, defeated boats from UC Davis, USC and Santa Clara in the race.

The success continued in the second varsity four race, where the Cardinal placed first and second ahead of the boats from UC Davis and Santa Clara. The Stanford 'A' boat won the race in 6:50.3, while the 'B' boat was five seconds back at 6:55.4.

Next up was the singles race, in which the Cardinal boasted all six entrants. Sebastian Peterlin (7:24.0) would outlast his five teammates to capture the race, as, in order of finish, Dane McFadden (7:34.8), Bodie Manly (7:42.3), Alex Syverson (7:45.3), Aaron Frankl (7:51.1) and Dean Walker (8:13.5) rounded out the field.

In the men's 1x event, Dixon Bross (7:30.4) and Alec Levy (7:36.4), finished second and third, respectively.

The Cardinal frosh four 'A' boat followed that race with a victory, crossing the line in 6:50.2, 13 seconds ahead of the Cardinal 'B' boat that clocked a time of 7:03.6.

The varsity four 'A' boat took to the water in the late morning, out-dueling its counterpart, the Stanford 'B' boat, by just 1.9 seconds for its victory. The 'A' boat clocked a winning time of 6:33.5, while the 'B' boat crossed the line with a time of 6:35.4.

Rounding out the successful day, the Cardinal pair defeated a pair of UC Davis boats and a boat from Sonoma State, clocking a victorious time of 7:09.8.

The Cardinal will return to the water in three weeks at the San Diego Crew Classic.

'We look forward to continued growth and expansion as we prepare for the San Diego Crew Classic at the end of the month,' Amerkhanian said about Sunday's showing.

Stanford Boat Lineups:

Second Varsity 4
Winning time 6:50.3
C. Alex Topacioo
4. David Evans
3. Chip Schroeder
2. Delamon Rego
1. Edwin Brower

2nd place 6:55.4
C. Miguel Sugay
4. Austin Keely
3. Joe Brendel
2. Graeme Clements
1. Eric Mefford

1. Sebastian Peterlin 7:24.0
2. Dixon Bross 7:30.4
3. Dane McFadden 7:34.8
4. Alec Levy 7:36.4
5. Bodie Manly 7:42.3
6. Alex Syverson 7:45.3
7. Aaron Frankl 7:51.1
8. Dean Walker 8:13.5

Varsity 4
Winning time 6:33.5
C. Alex Topacio
4. Sebastian Peterlin
3. Bodie Manly
2. Alec Levy
1. Dixon Bross

Varsity 4
Second place 6:35.4
C. Amelia Carr
4. Dane McFadden
3. Alex Syverson
2. Aaron Frankl
1. Dean Walker

Frosh 8
Winning time 6:13.5
C. Shane Hegde
8. Alec Macrae
7. Shahriyar Pruisken
6. Dave Dolben
5. Ryan Sudeck
4. Andrew Boothe
3. Will Faulkner
2. Jason Lupatkin
1. Zane Silver

Frosh 4
Winners 6:50.2
C. Mario Bernaba
4. Alec Macrae
3. Shahriyar Pruisken
2. Jason Lupatkin
1. Gordon Dean

2nd place
C. Michael Bernaba
4. Will Faulkner
3. Dave Dolben
2. Zane Silver
1. Graeme Clements

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network