Seth Tarver Named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year

March 8, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – Oregon State men’s basketball senior forward Seth Tarver has been named Pac-10 Conference Defensive Player of the Year, commissioner Larry Scott announced on Monday. In addition to Tarver’s honor, junior Calvin Haynes was named second-team All Pac-10 Conference while Tarver and Roeland Schaftenaar earned honorable mention all-league honors.


Tarver earns his first defensive player of the year award as the senior leads the league in steals at 2.3 per game. His performance at the top of Oregon State’s 1-3-1 zone defense has allowed the Beavers to rank third in points per game allowed (61.1 ppg) while leading the league in steals (8.1 per game) and three point percentage defense (30.3).


Tarver’s 69 steals this season are sixth most in school history while his 176 career steals rank seventh all-time at Oregon State. He becomes the first OSU player to be named Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year.


The senior forward also earned a spot on the all-defensive team and was named an honorable mention all-league selection as he enters the Pacific Life Pac-10 Conference Tournament ranked second on the squad at 10.7 points per game while leading the team with 4.7 rebounds per contest.


After earning honorable mention all-league honors a year ago, Haynes earned a spot on the All Pac-10 Conference second-team as the junior leads the team and ranks No. 14 in the conference at 12.7 points per game. The guard leads the team with 19 games in double figures, including four 20-plus performances, and leads the team with 13.8 points per game in league play.


Schaftenaar earns honorable mention honors for the second consecutive season as the center finished the regular season third on the squad at 8.9 points per contest. In Pac-10 games, Schaftenaar ranks second on the team with 10.3 points per game and 4.4 rebounds per contest.


In other league honors, California senior guard Jerome Randle was named player of the year; Arizona forward Derrick Williams earned freshman of the year honors; USC’s Nikola Vucevic was named most improved player while Herb Sendek of Arizona State was named coach of the year.


Coach of the Year, All-Conference, All-Freshman, All-Defensive teams and Most Improved Player are voted on by the coaches. Coaches are not permitted to vote for themselves or their own players for the honors.


Oregon State returns to action on Thursday, March 11, in Los Angeles, Calif., as the Beavers enter the weekend as the No. 6 seed in the Pac-10 Tournament and will face third-seed Washington at 6:00 p.m. The game will be televised by FSN.


Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network